Windows 10 on Surface Pro 2

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 2' started by GoodBytes, Oct 1, 2014.

  1. MrElectrifyer

    MrElectrifyer Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2014
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    World Wide Powerstation
    My Device:
    SPro2
    Oh, interesting, I ditched chrome because of how gimped Google had made it on PC+ devices like my Surface Pro. Gonna give the dev version a try in my Tech Preview VHD.

    BTW, here's my guide to testing out the Technical Preview via VHD boot. Was done on a Surface Pro 2 and doesn't require any other hardware accessory.
     
  2. TPadden

    TPadden Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2013
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Last build, 9879 broke everything for me. Random restarts, sometimes won't boot, won't wake up. Went back to 8.1 and will wait for the ready for prime time edition. :)
     
    mcsenerd likes this.
  3. TeleFragger

    TeleFragger Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2014
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    so im up here searching to figure out how to back up my sp2... I dont use it that much but love 8.1 on it. I have b been running w10 on my old core 2 duo laptop and it runs superb. 0 issues. Love it... everything about it so was thinking to do it here but dont want to loose my partition to get back 8.1 if it doesnt work.
    I see acronis brought up here..,. so im out searching more.,..
     
  4. mcsenerd

    mcsenerd Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2014
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    59
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Nation of Texas
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    I've been running W10 since it was released for download on my SP2 and I concur with TPadden. Something got borked in the last update and it's been super flaky since then. I've sent some feedback through the tool...but you never really know what gets read and actually looked at.
     
  5. TeleFragger

    TeleFragger Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2014
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    so question for you guys.. i am backing up my pics (use my sp2 for photoshop and lightroom)
    out side of this... if I get my personal files off and do a restore back to OEM like it came out of the box. Can you upgrade to Win10 preview? then if it doesnt work great just restore back to win8?
     
  6. TeleFragger

    TeleFragger Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2014
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    i installed Win10 overtop.. and it did nothing... hah im still on 8.1. it did all that, answered questions and thought it was going to go but it didnt.. weird...
     
  7. TeleFragger

    TeleFragger Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2014
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    ok so I said screw it... I simply booted on a thumb drive to install W10. I deleted the 112gb partition and went. All went fine and Win10 is up and running. loving it since Jan 5.

    well im running build 9841 but this weekend I went to the latest build.. 99xx forget numbers.. wow total redo and didnt like it much. Then it started tanking my SP2.. so I went back to 9841 and all is well...

    I am also running HandyAndy Android emulator (.41 as .42 isnt playing nice with the touchscreen) and that too is running fabulous
     
  8. Zkyevolved

    Zkyevolved Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2013
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    28
    It's good to hear that Windows 10 is running well (generally speaking) on our SP2s! I can't wait. If I didn't need my SP2 to be reliable and solid on a daily basis... I'd totally take the plunge! :)
     
  9. mcsenerd

    mcsenerd Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2014
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    59
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Nation of Texas
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    I haven't had a great number of issues out of the latest preview build, but I'm still not diggin Win10 from a tablet perspective. Every time I have to do something that is truly "tablet"-like on the SP2 under Windows 10 it feels like a "step backward" to me. I'm holding onto hope that they bring the non-desktop behavior more in-line with their original tablet vision, but I don't know if there will be any great changes before shipping...
     
  10. Zkyevolved

    Zkyevolved Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2013
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    28
    There is still a while before shipping, and from what I hear, MS is taking feedback seriously. I'd comment it and leave feedback, ask others to do the same, and they might change it!
     
  11. mcsenerd

    mcsenerd Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2014
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    59
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Nation of Texas
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    Oh, believe me...I've left a ton of feedback through the tool. I've seen a few odd behaviors like Cortana getting kinda stuck, dialog boxes not clearing, etc. Like I said...I'm still holding out some hope that they make continuum what I thought it was going to be... More Win8/8.1ish for tablet mode...More Win7ish for desktop mode.
     
  12. B'midbar

    B'midbar Guest

    Corporate world will be sitting on Windows 7 every bit as long as they sat on XP.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
install windows 10 on surface pro 2
,
surface 2 pro windows 10
,

surface 2 windows 10

,

surface pro 2 windows 10

,
windows 10 for surface 2
,
windows 10 for surface pro 2
,
windows 10 on surface 2
,

windows 10 on surface pro 2

,
windows 10 surface 2
,

windows 10 surface pro 2