Windows 10 Preview on Surface Pro 3

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 3' started by sharpuser, Oct 2, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Kris

    Kris Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2014
    Messages:
    644
    Likes Received:
    81
    Trophy Points:
    28
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I'm actually having issues... Can't snyc onedrive and my fan is runing non stop. Stoped messing with it and will check back in the morning/afternoon when I'm more coherent.
     
  2. Nummer35

    Nummer35 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2014
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    I'm running the new Update since 2 days and did run into two issus:
    - the mentiond rotation bug
    - metro apps might not show up if more than one desktop ist active until I switched throu them

    Processor and OneDrive works flawless :)
     
  3. RémiM

    RémiM Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2014
    Messages:
    488
    Likes Received:
    103
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    somewhere in between Canada and France
    My Device:
    Surface 3 (Atom)
  4. GreyFox7

    GreyFox7 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6,899
    Likes Received:
    1,385
    Trophy Points:
    113
    The question is the UEFI compatibility of their boot loader.

    The Corsair I believe is on the list for "Windows to Go" compatibility which is a specific solution with the Enterprise edition of Win8 that allows you to plug in a Win8 USB drive to any device and run assuming you can boot to the USB.

    However the right bootloader and an SSD stick sounds appealing.
     
  5. sharpuser

    sharpuser Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2013
    Messages:
    3,945
    Likes Received:
    1,199
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Eastern USA & China
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    Knuck,
    At first,Build 9860 did seem to have WiFi trouble - until I deleted previous profiles (Apple users know this as "forget this network"). It seems that although WiFi connections which used in the previous build were still working, something had changed with the software or adapter driver. Though you have already reverted to the previous build, the solution may be to delete your connection profiles (here's how to do it with a command line, for convenience).
     
  6. RémiM

    RémiM Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2014
    Messages:
    488
    Likes Received:
    103
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    somewhere in between Canada and France
    My Device:
    Surface 3 (Atom)
    Nothing to add sir ;)
     
  7. golosin2

    golosin2 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I don't know if this has been discussed but, I would like to ask something I would love to have in W10.

    If I am in the desktop, using the cover trackpad or with the bt mouse, and I click on the start button ON THE SCREEN, I would like to see start MENU and open desktop apps.

    If I push the PHYSICAL BUTTON on the bezel (this means that I am using it as a tablet), I would love to see start SCREEN and open MUI apps directly.

    Is this happening?
     
  8. sharpuser

    sharpuser Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2013
    Messages:
    3,945
    Likes Received:
    1,199
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Eastern USA & China
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    Good idea, golosin2. I just sent that in.
    If Microsoft does not go this way, then there is always Stardock's Start8 (new Beta version is adding more functionality, too). Start8 currently does this, but if you use it, you lose the Windows 10 Start Menu, which has the new tile functionality.
     
  9. Telstar1948

    Telstar1948 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2013
    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    79
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Columbia, Missouri
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    Let us know if it works!
     
  10. GreyFox7

    GreyFox7 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6,899
    Likes Received:
    1,385
    Trophy Points:
    113
  11. razy60

    razy60 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2014
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Just tried to update to the next build but update says its not possible as i'm running on a VHD, although as I have not had any issues yet not that unhappy
     
  12. Geek.Verve

    Geek.Verve Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2014
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    8
    My Device:
    None
    I wonder if the USB3 port on the SP3 supplies enough power to effectively run that device.

    http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/...e-issues/f4d92f36-c9ac-4ffd-8a42-924669d5eef9
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
surface 3 windows 10
,

surface pro 3 windows 10

,
surface pro 3 with windows 10
,
surface pro windows 10
,
windows 10 for surface pro 3
,
windows 10 on surface 3
,

windows 10 on surface pro 3

,
windows 10 surface
,
windows 10 surface 3
,

windows 10 surface pro 3