Windows 7 home to 10 pro

Discussion in 'Windows 10 Forum' started by Kris, Jul 30, 2015.

  1. Kris

    Kris Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2014
    Messages:
    644
    Likes Received:
    81
    Trophy Points:
    28
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I just noticed on my desktop that it says I am running Windows 10 Pro. I started off with Windows 7 home, registered, upgraded to insider 10162. I then had to do a clean install of 10162 and upgraded to 10240. Of course now upgraded to RTM and it gave me a Pro version instead of a Home version. Has this happened to anyone else? Maybe a perk of being an insider?
     
  2. hughlle

    hughlle Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2014
    Messages:
    2,700
    Likes Received:
    422
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Nope. I had 8.1 home on my S3 and despite taking numerous routes to end up with win 10 on it during the insider program, it's sat on win 10 home
     
  3. Kris

    Kris Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2014
    Messages:
    644
    Likes Received:
    81
    Trophy Points:
    28
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Hmm wonder what I did wrong or right for it to happen... Grateful that it did, though not entirely sure what I get out of having pro vs home. Anyone else out there get lucky? Um with Windows...
     
  4. sharpuser

    sharpuser Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2013
    Messages:
    2,851
    Likes Received:
    1,030
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest & China
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    A Surface Pro had Windows 8 Pro / Windows 8.1 Pro bundled.
    Pro upgrades to Pro.

    So Windows 8.1 Pro becomes Windows 10 Pro.
    The "Pro" in Surface Pro decided your fate.
     
  5. leeshor

    leeshor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    5,071
    Likes Received:
    877
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Norcross, GA
    My Device:
    SPro4
    It sounds as if somewhere along the line it doesn't think it's an upgrade.
     
  6. Bandit

    Bandit New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Saw this on Windows Weekly today. The first insider versions were only Pro. If you did an in-place upgrade from a valid version of 7 or 8.1 Home you got 10 Pro. As long as you didn't restore your system back to the original Home OS you got to keep Pro when the RTM version came out.
     
    leeshor likes this.
  7. Kris

    Kris Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2014
    Messages:
    644
    Likes Received:
    81
    Trophy Points:
    28
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Well bad ass happy to get Pro, and people were saying we got nothing out of being insiders...
     
  8. Kris

    Kris Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2014
    Messages:
    644
    Likes Received:
    81
    Trophy Points:
    28
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Is there any way to tell if I did actually get the real RTM? I ran winver but of course it just tells me version 10240, same thing my SP3 tells me
     
  9. MagicPoop

    MagicPoop Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2015
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    8
    My Device:
    SPro3
    well isn't 10240, actual RTM? I mean, you can't expect it to say "REAL RTM" when you run winver.
     
    leeshor and Kris like this.

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
win 10 pro from win 7 pro
,
surface pro windows 7 to windows 10
,
win 7 home to win 10 pro
,
windows 10 home into windows 10 pro
,

windows 10 pro from windows 7 home edition

,
windows 7 home 10 pro
,
windows 7 home to windows 10 pro