Windows Store

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 4' started by pagdodd, Jun 6, 2016.

  1. pagdodd

    pagdodd New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My Device:
    SPro4
    I seem to be having an issue with opening the Windows Store app
    I have tried Google search repairs to no avail.
    Reset SP4 and it worked once again.
    However, a few days later and it is not working again

    Anyone else experience this?
     
  2. leeshor

    leeshor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    5,071
    Likes Received:
    877
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Norcross, GA
    My Device:
    SPro4
    You say you reset your SP4 but I'm not exactly certain what you did based on that statement. Have you tried resetting the Store app? "wsreset"
     
  3. pagdodd

    pagdodd New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My Device:
    SPro4
    sorry, should have explained. I did a system reset (reset all setting but keep files)
    I have also tried the wsreset

    in addition: when I click the "blank" icon where the store should be. I can see in task manager that "Cortana Background Task Host" opens and then closes again. But Store still does not run...
     
    Last edited: Jun 6, 2016
  4. leeshor

    leeshor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    5,071
    Likes Received:
    877
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Norcross, GA
    My Device:
    SPro4
    Check post #11 here "hard reset" You can also try an admin powershell prompt and use this command
    Code:
    Get-AppXPackage | Foreach {Add-AppxPackage -DisableDevelopmentMode -Register "$($_.InstallLocation)\AppXManifest.xml"}
    You can also try sfc /scannow
     
  5. pagdodd

    pagdodd New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My Device:
    SPro4
    so....the code did the attached...

    SFC /SCANNOW didn't work either
     

    Attached Files:

  6. leeshor

    leeshor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    5,071
    Likes Received:
    877
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Norcross, GA
    My Device:
    SPro4
    I think you may need to try another refresh. Something seems to have gone wrong somewhere unless it's a security app you may have installed.
     
  7. pagdodd

    pagdodd New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My Device:
    SPro4
    ok, thanks for your time.
    best foolproof factory reset method?
     
  8. leeshor

    leeshor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    5,071
    Likes Received:
    877
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Norcross, GA
    My Device:
    SPro4
    I'm guessing you have double checked that you have all the MS updates. Also that you have a local account as well as a Microsoft account.

    I would backup all the data that isn't in the cloud and just do a full reset. You'll need to reinstall your apps but if it's still not right after that there may be something going on that befuddles me. It doesn't sound hardware related but I would have thought what you have done would have solved the problem. Is there anything else not working besides the Store app.
     
  9. pagdodd

    pagdodd New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My Device:
    SPro4
    thanks for all your advise. Just completed a full reset and all seems well.
    time will tell....
     

Share This Page