Solved Windows update and Thermometer sign

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 3' started by Wynchester, Aug 13, 2014.

  1. Wynchester

    Wynchester New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I am keep getting this thermometer sign whenever I am doing a windows update. and Surface just shut down. It happen to me twice already. This is my second surface. This one is way slower than the first surface pro 3 I had whenever it is doing windows update. I think it is taking 2x as long. Should I return the device? I need some advice.
     
  2. ctitanic

    ctitanic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,194
    Likes Received:
    577
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hollywood, FL
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Are you running Windows update from the metro interface or from desktop mode? And Welcome aboard!
     
  3. ipaq_101

    ipaq_101 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2014
    Messages:
    436
    Likes Received:
    147
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    CA
    My Device:
    SPro3
    It means the SP3 is really hot and needs to cool down for a few minutes.

    I would take it to the store and swap it out, looks like the update messed up somewhere.
     
  4. ctitanic

    ctitanic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,194
    Likes Received:
    577
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hollywood, FL
    My Device:
    SPro3
    If the update was the cause, then a refresh should fix the issue.
     
  5. Bandito

    Bandito Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2013
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    My Device:
    SPro3
    It sounds like it may have an issue with the heatsink or fan that's not keeping it cool enough to run properly.

    If there are a lot of updates to download and install, such as yesterday, my SP3 will heat up quite a bit during the process, but I've never experienced a thermal shutdown like you have.

    I'd go ahead and try to replace this one as well.
     
  6. ipaq_101

    ipaq_101 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2014
    Messages:
    436
    Likes Received:
    147
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    CA
    My Device:
    SPro3
    True, he should give it a shot and hopefully that fixes it. But, a Thermometer sign is never a good sign.
     
  7. Wynchester

    Wynchester New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    thank you for the quick reply. I did full factory reset just to make sure its wiped clean. I want to test it out before I consider returning. How should I test it? Should I try to do the windows update again? By the way, I did update from the metro ui. Thank you
     
  8. GreyFox7

    GreyFox7 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6,331
    Likes Received:
    1,279
    Trophy Points:
    113
    You will have to do the updates sooner or later so may as well do them first before you spend/waste time on something else.
     
  9. gtext

    gtext Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2014
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Waiting for my SP3 at months end.
    Is this overheating an isolated issue when updating or is everybody experiencing this.
    Not a good thing seeing that they weren't 3rd party updates but ones MS put out, and since they also manufacture the SP3 it's something you would think they would test themselves.

    Grateful to you people in the US doing all this "Beta" testing for me. Many of these issues you are seeing should be fixed or at least known about by the time mine arrives.
     
  10. DanL

    DanL Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2013
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    18
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I've had my SP3 since release day and never had a heat problem during updates. It's definitely not normal.
     
  11. Kif

    Kif Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2014
    Messages:
    478
    Likes Received:
    149
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Relative
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I've never had a heat problem either. In fact I rarely hear the fan running. It does rev up during update cycles but my desktop PC does the same exact thing. I think the thermal management software is disabled during the update cycle so the system revs itself up to full cooling to protect itself. Please call Surface support because unfortunately you probably have an issue.
     
  12. Wynchester

    Wynchester New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    for the update, I talk to the tech support. And they wanted me to exchanged to a new surface. So I did the exchange today and I am setting the surface up. I hope this one is better than last one.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

surface pro has thermometer symbol during update

,

thermometer issue surface pro 3

,

thermometer surface pro 3

,

what causes streaks on windows on second surface installation

,

windows 10 thermometer sign