windows8 for PC wasteofmoney

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface General Discussion' started by dallasfreak, Dec 11, 2012.

  1. dallasfreak

    dallasfreak New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2012
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok this is my point !!!! I received my Surface on Nov.9th and downloaded windows 8 for my pc on Nov 5 ! that being said I played with windows 8 for 4 days and have not turn on my PC since the 9th ......thus waste of 40.00 ......damn somebody should have warn me about the addiction to the SURFACE!@@@:p:p:p:p:p:p:p:eek:mg:
     
    1 person likes this.
  2. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,095
    Likes Received:
    1,724
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    I ended up selling my year old Samsung Series 7 Slate because I didn't use it that often. I am using a Windows 8 Desktop that I remote into to do things like Outlook/OneNote integration but then I sync notebooks and actually take the note on my Surface. I do quite a bit of Excel work through RDP. The Surface is my Mobile Touch Screen Monitor for the desktop and all around mobile platform.
     
  3. bosamar

    bosamar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012
    Messages:
    1,453
    Likes Received:
    78
    Trophy Points:
    48
    My Device:
    RT
    Your Win8 PC will eventually come back into use. My Win8 desktop PC is non-touch but I've been able to duplicate everything. I've learned a lot about Win8 since purchasing my RT.
     
  4. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,095
    Likes Received:
    1,724
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    What I really like about using a complete Windows 8/RT ecosystem is that Multitouch is supported across RDP to the Windows 8 Desktop, its like having two tablets in one :)
     
  5. Alewood

    Alewood New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have a quick question. I have had my surface for awhile now, and have been interested in how to set up RDP. I'm currently running win 7 home premium, will upgrading to win 8 give me the capability to connect my surface RT to my desktop? Thanks guys
     
  6. ArnoldC

    ArnoldC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Messages:
    1,537
    Likes Received:
    110
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Makati, Philippines
    @alewood, enable remote desktop on your Windows 7 box and your RT can connect to it via Remote Desktop, but only one session, i.e., the Windows 7 box will be locked as long as you are remotely connected to it. - edit: i'm sorry, you said Home Edition.
     
    Last edited: Dec 12, 2012
  7. TrentonT

    TrentonT Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2012
    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Trenton Ontario Canada
    I agree I just loaded Windows 8 Pro on both Desktops at home and it has openned a new life for them. Boot much faster, a bit of a learning curve but functionality is great. Got a free key from Microsoft promo till end of January works great. The one box is in the media room using a 52" LCD HD as a monitor (colour me impressed). Had to download and install AMD catalsyt to fix the overscan but that ws it.
    My home office Desktop is a Dual monitoe Win 8 was disghed for that I run Desktop on my primary monitoe and Modern on the second. With Surface it is a complete set.
    If you have not gone after the Media Centre offer (Saves you $10.00) follow this link:
    Add features - Microsoft Windows
     
    1 person likes this.

Share This Page