wireless display adapter (miracast)

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 3' started by HyunJUn, Feb 13, 2015.

  1. HyunJUn

    HyunJUn New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi. Ive recently bought a miracast device from Microsoft.

    but, it doesnt work at all

    on the tv, it says it's ready to connect. and then when i try to connect, this goes "it's connecting...'

    but after that just black screen comes out. nothing. and after few seconds, my surface says 'no connection'

    i dunno what is wrong. With just hdmi cable, it connects perfectly, but not this wireless adapter.

    Is there anyone has the same problem? or already solved? please help me sort this out.
     
  2. sharpuser

    sharpuser Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2013
    Messages:
    2,852
    Likes Received:
    1,030
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest & China
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    1. With the WDA connected to the TV, press and hold the little black button for 15 seconds, then release. The light will start to flash. 3. 2. Immediately unplug both connections of the WDA and place them back.
    3. On the Surface press Win+P

    Let us know...
     
  3. HyunJUn

    HyunJUn New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    It still doesnt work..
    Just black screen or back to the initial screen saying 'ready to connect'
    i dunno what's wrong.
    i guess it's not WDA's problems, but my surface settings, drivers or firmware.
    Please help me
     
  4. ipanic

    ipanic New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Austria
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Try to disable your firewall, Miracasat adds a wireless adapter with public firewall rules, if you block all incoming connections on public networks, Miracast dont work.
     
  5. HyunJUn

    HyunJUn New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello..I've tried it but still doesnt work..
    should I re-install windows or something?
     
  6. r0b123

    r0b123 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2014
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    34
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Issaquah, WA (USA)
    My Device:
    SPro3
    1. What is the range between your Surface and TV? Are you up close while trying to diagnose the issue? Make sure you're within 3-5 feet.
    2. Verify your Surface is updated with the latest drivers.
     
  7. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,099
    Likes Received:
    1,724
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    You may need to roll back your Video Driver as the one from the January Update isn't playing nice with Miracast....
     
  8. fletch33

    fletch33 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2015
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Under a Rug
    My Device:
    SPro3
    i just opened the box about 5 minutes ago from a purchase at Best Buy today. i have a Samsung TV which has Miracast BUT i do everything on my TV via Xbox One which does not have it so sadly i had to purchase this to make to of the latest edition of MS products to work together.

    anyway i plugged in HDMI and then USB to TV, got on my SP3 with every update available updated and hit " add device" and after 1 minute it was installed and i am typing this from looking at TV with no issues at all. i thought i would help eliminate that it may not be the latest updates.

    hope you get it figured out.
     
  9. Joe Torres

    Joe Torres Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2015
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    8
    I got the adapter as well, and it's flipping awesome. The only issue i'm having is after not using it for a bit, it doesn't reconnect with my SP3. I end up having to remove and repair the device. Am I missing something?
     
  10. cdf3

    cdf3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2014
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    28
    I'm tempted to get one for my Surface Pro 3 as well.
     
  11. Joe Torres

    Joe Torres Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2015
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    8
    It also works great with my Nexus 7 and my wife's Lenovo yoga 11s
     
  12. JimB

    JimB Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2014
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Doesn't work when you have Oracle Virtual VM installed unfortunately.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
microsoft display adapter not connecting to yoga 3
,

microsoft wda problems

,
microsoft wireless display adapter black screen after connect
,

microsoft wireless display adapter black screen surface 2

,
microsoft wireless display adapter connects but screen is black
,
microsoft wireless display adapter ready to connect
,
miracast black screen windows
,
surface pro not connecting to microsoft wireless display adapter
,
widi lenovo yoga 11s
,

wireless display firewall rule missing