wireless freezes most controls after standby

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro' started by brianmay27, Feb 14, 2013.

  1. brianmay27

    brianmay27 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I don't know if this is from the wireless or what but it has happened twice since getting my pro on sat. What happens is I'll resume it from standby and it will not get wireless. I can't click on the wireless, can't reboot, shutdown etc. If I put it to sleep again it will freeze for good and I have to do a hard reboot. The wireless never does show up when I try to click it. It will just show the hover over glow and nothing more.

    Has anyone had this? Luckily I'm sure its just a software bug they have to fix up but I hope they get to it soon since it sucks to have to reboot the whole machine by force reboot.
     
  2. bosamar

    bosamar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012
    Messages:
    1,453
    Likes Received:
    78
    Trophy Points:
    48
    My Device:
    RT
    Tell us about the wifi you are trying to connect to. What else of yours is connected to it?
     
  3. Russ

    Russ Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012
    Messages:
    600
    Likes Received:
    113
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    North Georgia, USA
    Brian --

    I'll leave more helpful comments from the more technically knowledgeable among us, but I have also had "mine" since Saturday and have not experienced this problem, although I have gone through numerous Sleep/Wake cycles. My wireless is a Cisco RE1000, repeating the signal from a Cisco EA4500 router. Don't know if that matters, but it's just FYI.

    Regards,
    Russ
     
  4. brianmay27

    brianmay27 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hmm, never thought it to be the wireless access point, I have a b/g sonicwall running as the firewall/access point. I don't believe the wireless access point to be the problem as I have had this problem at my college campus. I'm not even sure if it is the wireless, I say it is because its the first thing I check after resuming. Can't say I have this problem with other computers. If no one else has experienced this problem I guess I'll have to keep my eye on it. Worth looking at the error log too. I'll post back if I find anything else
     
  5. brianmay27

    brianmay27 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ahh well upon resuming I get a Bluetooth error
    "the local Bluetooth adapter has failed in an undetermined manner...the driver will be unloaded" Does the Bluetooth driver get shared with the wireless as they are on the same chipset?
     
  6. bosamar

    bosamar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012
    Messages:
    1,453
    Likes Received:
    78
    Trophy Points:
    48
    My Device:
    RT
    I'd try the different encryptions, i.e. WPA/WEP etc. Depending on the actual router some can be touchy.
     
  7. J515OP

    J515OP Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    2,177
    Likes Received:
    262
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Northern CA
    My Device:
    RT
  8. brianmay27

    brianmay27 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yeah, I saw that yesterday! Im glad they did a teardown that quickly, RIP the teardown unit. Makes me wonder if fm radio will be supported. As for the driver, any idea what could have caused the failure? I have a BT keyboard/mouse but it has been turned off while it failed.
     
  9. J515OP

    J515OP Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    2,177
    Likes Received:
    262
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Northern CA
    My Device:
    RT
    No idea about your problem it seems strange. Haven't heard others having it yet either.

    As for the FM I am sure some Windows enthusiasts can easily enable it ;)
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
microsoft surface pro freezing
,
router keeps locking up surface pro
,
surface pro 2 freezing
,
surface pro 3 freeze
,
surface pro 3 mouse cursor freze
,
surface pro freeze
,

surface pro freezing

,
surface pro keeps freezing