Solved Word downloads file every time I open it

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 3' started by Liam2349, Aug 29, 2014.

  1. Liam2349

    Liam2349 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2014
    Messages:
    884
    Likes Received:
    132
    Trophy Points:
    43
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Every time I open a document in Word, it downloads it, which takes a few seconds. Is there any way to just open the local version? I still want it to check for a newer version, but then open the local one once it realizes that it's the latest version.

    I made it available offline in OneDrive but it's still downloading it every time. How can I get it to make documents available offline by default and use the local version?
     
  2. jrhillma

    jrhillma Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2014
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Go offline before opening the file?
     
  3. Liam2349

    Liam2349 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2014
    Messages:
    884
    Likes Received:
    132
    Trophy Points:
    43
    My Device:
    SPro3
    That will probably take longer than downloading it. There must be a setting?
     
  4. nnthemperor

    nnthemperor Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2014
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    18
    If it's a few seconds wait then what the heck. A little patience never hurts. LOL
    Seriously though try opening the file from within word itself. That is after the program launches click the document from the list of recently opened docs on the left side of the screen. Alternatively you can pin docs you open so often.
     
  5. Liam2349

    Liam2349 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2014
    Messages:
    884
    Likes Received:
    132
    Trophy Points:
    43
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I was opening it from within Word. I know it's only a few seconds but it would be nice for instant opening.
     
  6. leeshor

    leeshor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    5,071
    Likes Received:
    877
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Norcross, GA
    My Device:
    SPro4
    It sounds like you are using the same link Word originally uses, (an MRU in tech terms). You would need to navigate to the downloaded file on the local drive to create a new MRU link. Just a guess though.
     
    nnthemperor and Liam2349 like this.
  7. Liam2349

    Liam2349 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2014
    Messages:
    884
    Likes Received:
    132
    Trophy Points:
    43
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Spot on, thanks!
     
    leeshor likes this.

Share This Page