Work is buying me a SP3 - So....

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 3' started by godson594, Jun 6, 2014.

  1. godson594

    godson594 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2013
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    So...

    I'll be able to do some comparisons of SP3 next to my SP2 and my Macbook Air... I also have an iPad 4, iPad mini w/retina and Dell Venue Pro 8 I can compare to if anyone wants...

    I like the idea of the bigger screen, but I have some doubts that it will run as good with Solidworks because of the Resolution.

    Maybe this screen wont squeak lol
     
  2. krypticide

    krypticide Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Cool, what kind of work/who do you work for? Curious what types of organizations are buying SP3s.
     
  3. godson594

    godson594 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2013
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    I work for a startup.

    Well they buy everyone Macbooks but I cant stand osx for work... They would never buy surfaces lol, but I hate lugging my personal device to work every day.
     
  4. krypticide

    krypticide Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Interesting, I'm interviewing at a startup that also uses Macs exclusively (and Google Apps, ugh). Maybe I can away them with a Surface as well if I join.
     
  5. godson594

    godson594 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2013
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    The last three startups I have been at have used macs. We use google docs where i'm at now and I dont mind it :)

    What area are you from?
     
  6. Zkyevolved

    Zkyevolved Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2013
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Why are all these startups using Macs? I have a MacBook and I find myself much slower in performing basic tasks than on windows. So after a few weeks I installed windows on it. Now I use it as a server as it's rather slow as a computer. I didn't come to start a fight but you guys are saying that these companies use Macs exclusively... strange for me to see that...
     
  7. godson594

    godson594 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2013
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    I can only say hardware reliability... I hate osx to be honest, but I also work in a place that requires some devs to use xcode... So you are pretty much screwed of you are an ios dev.

    Macbook airs have decent specs and displayport out for around 1k.... I had a hard time finding similar specced Windows machines.
     
  8. olimjj

    olimjj Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2013
    Messages:
    550
    Likes Received:
    113
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Where no man has gone before.
    My Device:
    SPro3
    You do know that Apple Headquarters is located in Cupertino, which is in the Silicon Valley where the OP lists his location. If the startups mentioned were located there, Apple provides a large incentive to use their Hardware.
     
  9. krypticide

    krypticide Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    All the startups I'm looking at are in the Bay Area. It's its own microcosm for sure...Macs are the fly thing to have, and necessary for iOS dev apparently.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

surface pro 3