Would this dock work on SP3?

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 3' started by kiwigirl, Feb 27, 2015.

  1. kiwigirl

    kiwigirl Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2014
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Work well you think?



    Only thing I wonder is, running two monitors through it, how much resources would this use on the SP3? Would this mean I wouldnt have to run one of my monitors through mini DP on the Sp3?
     
  2. ScottyS

    ScottyS Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2013
    Messages:
    672
    Likes Received:
    116
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    New York
    My Device:
    SPro3
    It has only HDMI and DVI ports so you would need a mDP-to-HDMI or DVI adapter and the video says it handles resolutions up to 2048 x 1152 whereas the SP3 display itself is 2160 x 1440, and mDP output to a monitor with DP or mDP input can handle up to 4K (at 30Hz).
     
  3. GreyFox7

    GreyFox7 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6,331
    Likes Received:
    1,279
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Not the most well known vendor, if you test it and it works perfectly it might be ok. Otherwise Id go with one of the better known more popular brands with likely better support. The latest models with DisplayLink 5900 chipset will drive one 4k/2k monitor or two at a lower resolutions (dual displays up to 2048x1152).

    Update: http://www.displaylink.com/shop/new_products.php
    Look at the 4k capable models, these use the DL-59XX chipset.
    More vendors will be releasing products, expect to see Targus, Pluggable, Cable Matters, etc.

    StarTech model with DP and HDMI
    http://www.startech.com/Cards-Adapt...op-docking-station-with-4k-video~USB3DOCKHDPC

    DELL model with DP and 2x HDMI.
    http://accessories.us.dell.com/sna/...&cid=281056&lid=5327799&acd=12309204758460815
     
    Last edited: Feb 28, 2015
  4. kiwigirl

    kiwigirl Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2014
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    18
    So Im guessing I would no longer need my Diamond USB Video card to run the 2nd ext monitor? Thats good, I could resell it. The USB video card I have now for the 2nd ext monitor puts out max 1080P.

    It says it can handle res's up to 2048x1152, but thats PER screen isnt it? Cause my ext monitors are only 1080P anyways. Would this work?
     
  5. ScottyS

    ScottyS Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2013
    Messages:
    672
    Likes Received:
    116
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    New York
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I would think so.
     
  6. kiwigirl

    kiwigirl Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2014
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I did consider those but theyre too expensive. Even the price on the HIS brand at $129 is pushing it. Remember that $130 is CDN dollar since im in Canada, so that would be like $100 US.

    I thought HIS is a good brand?
     
  7. GreyFox7

    GreyFox7 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6,331
    Likes Received:
    1,279
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Yes, that is two monitors at that resolution or lower, they can be different as well.

    http://www.amazon.com/HIS-Multi-Vie...m_sbs_e_1?ie=UTF8&refRID=0WEKJK7WNRRYHD3JDFF4
    Note the above may not be the same product you referenced although features seem the same and i'm not sure if this is the DL-3900 chipset or the newer DL-5900 im inclined to think it's using the 3900. . It has 7 reviews on Amazon.

    vs. This product which might fit your needs...uses the older but pretty good DL-3900 chipset with over 800 reviews. for 99 US
    http://www.amazon.com/Plugable-UD-3...47927&sr=1-1&keywords=usb+3.0+docking+station

    Another popular choice the Anker ... same chipset, also 99 US.
    http://www.amazon.com/Display-Unive...16819&sr=1-2&keywords=usb+3.0+docking+station
    Corrected Link. March 1 8:40 AM


    The ones I linked earlier use the *new* more capable DL-5900 chipset and had DP + HDMI with up to 4k monitor support thus the higher price.

    I'm not familiar with HIS...
     
    Last edited: Mar 1, 2015
  8. kiwigirl

    kiwigirl Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2014
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Sorry my bad, so I should be able to run two ext monitors at 1080P res no problem?

    [/QUOTE]http://www.amazon.com/HIS-Multi-View-Docking-Station-HDOCK1/dp/B00LZL83SY/ref=pd_sim_sbs_e_1?ie=UTF8&refRID=0WEKJK7WNRRYHD3JDFF4
    Note the above may not be the same product you referenced although features seem the same and i'm not sure if this is the DL-3900 chipset or the newer DL-5900 im inclined to think it's using the 3900. . It has 7 reviews on Amazon.

    vs. This product which might fit your needs...uses the older but pretty good DL-3900 chipset with over 800 reviews. for 99 US
    http://www.amazon.com/Plugable-UD-3...47927&sr=1-1&keywords=usb+3.0+docking+station

    Another popular choice the Anker ... same chipset, also 99 US.
    http://www.amazon.com/Plugable-UD-3...47927&sr=1-1&keywords=usb+3.0+docking+station

    The ones I linked earlier use the *new* more capable DL-5900 chipset and had DP + HDMI with up to 4k monitor support thus the higher price.

    I'm not familiar with HIS...[/QUOTE]

    Interesting, thanks. Im inclined to think the HIS I posted is using the older DL-3900 chipset. So it all comes down to basically the updated chipset for $10 more. $130 vs $140. A no brainer then to get the Anker. Both are virtually identical except the upgraded chip.

    But need to find out forsure first that the HIS isnt already using the new chip.
     
  9. GreyFox7

    GreyFox7 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6,331
    Likes Received:
    1,279
    Trophy Points:
    113
    I'm confusing you, sorry. The Pluggable and Anker both are using the DL-3900 chipset both are top selling popular brands.

    I just realized the link above for the Anker was actually the link to the Pluggable ... OOPS here's the correct link
    http://www.amazon.com/Display-Unive...16819&sr=1-2&keywords=usb+3.0+docking+station
    and I will correct my post above as well.

    The StarTech and Dell linked above have the DL-5900 chipset. These are the first to market with the new DisplayLink 4k technology and the price reflects that, as more vendors release their new models with the DL-5900 chipset prices will slowly fall.
     
  10. surfdock

    surfdock Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2014
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    47
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    My Device:
    SPro3
    kiwigirl, the dock will work fine. This article may help you choose the right dock and accessories for multi-mon setups: http://blogs.msdn.com/b/danchar/arc...with-surface-pro-3-and-lenovo-yoga-3-pro.aspx


    And don't forget this one to change the DPI settings to match your monitors:
    http://blogs.msdn.com/b/danchar/arc...on-with-surface-pro-3-dpi-scaling-tweaks.aspx

    Unless you're going to go buy new monitors that are 2560x1440 or higher resolution, there is really no practical advantage to the new DisplayLink chipsets compared to last year's chipset. Just get the dock that has the features you need.
     

Share This Page