Search results

  1. Spider

    What's new in the Windows 10 April 2018 Update

    The latest Windows 10 feature update includes the first public release of the Timeline feature as well as dozens of smaller enhancements to the Windows 10 user experience. Here's what you can expect. By Ed Bott | April 27, 2018 -- 13:33 GMT (06:33 PDT) | Topic: Windows 10 The next big...
  2. Spider

    Microsoft's Windows 10 April 2018 Update arrives on Monday

    Microsoft's latest Windows 10 feature update has an official name and a release date. You've got questions? I've got (some) answers. By Mary Jo Foley for All About Microsoft | April 27, 2018 -- 13:00 GMT (06:00 PDT) | Topic: Windows 10 Windows 10 "Redstone 4" finally has an official name...
  3. Spider

    Microsoft battery saving tips

    https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/help/20443/windows-10-battery-saving-tips?ocid=engagement_ema_omc_win_aprnews_nonWMR_md5-tips-batterylife-cta
  4. Spider

    How to wipe your phone or tablet before you sell it

    How to wipe your phone the right way
  5. Spider

    Windows 10 Creators Update: The smart person's guide

    Everything you need to know about the latest major upgrade to Microsoft's flagship OS. By Nick Heath | April 7, 2017, 9:23 AM PST If you own Windows 10 and haven't heard of the Creators Update, this feature will walk you through everything you need to know about Microsoft's second major...
  6. Spider

    How to use Windows 10's Storage tool to find out the size of the hibernation file--and much more

    You might be surprised at the features hidden in the Storage tool. See how you can use it to find out the size of the hibernation file, view hard drive usage, remove temp files, and uninstall apps. By Greg Shultz | November 11, 2016, 5:44 AM PST Image: iStockphoto.com/Cindy Haggerty A...
  7. Spider

    Windows 10 violates your privacy by default, here's how you can protect yourself

    Upon installation, Windows 10 defaults to some pretty serious privacy invasions. Here are some steps you can take to keep your personal data private. By Conner Forrest | August 4, 2015, 5:10 AM PST Since the July 29 release of Windows 10, the tech world has been talking about the latest OS...
  8. Spider

    Windows 10 tip: Create a perfect background for your desktop or lock screen

    Personalizing your desktop background or lock screen has always involved a guessing game: Will your favorite personal photo fit the screen, or will it be stretched and distorted? A hidden feature in the new Photos app guarantees success. By Ed Bott for The Ed Bott Report | September 7, 2016...
  9. Spider

    Those free Windows 10 upgrades are over. Now what?

    We've reached the end of Microsoft's unprecedented free upgrade offer for Windows 10. If you choose to upgrade an old Windows PC, you'll now have to pay. But good news: Those annoying GWX notifications are finally gone. [Updated] By Ed Bott for The Ed Bott Report | July 30, 2016 -- 16:07 GMT...
  10. Spider

    What to expect from the Windows 10 Anniversary Update

    The unconventional evolution of Windows 10 continues with the upcoming release of the Anniversary Update, version 1607. It's not just a service pack. Here's what's new. By Ed Bott for The Ed Bott Report | June 29, 2016 -- 12:01 GMT (05:01 PDT) Microsoft wants you to think of Windows 10 as...
  11. Spider

    Microsoft to make saying no to Windows 10 update easier

    Microsoft is changing the wording of its 'Get Windows 10' update prompt to make cancelling the free update easier and clearer. By Mary Jo Foley for All About Microsoft | June 28, 2016 -- 11:59 GMT (04:59 PDT) Microsoft plans to change the Windows 10 update prompt to make it clearer and...
  12. Spider

    What happens to those free Windows 10 upgrades after July 29, 2016?

    We're nearing the end of Microsoft's unprecedented free upgrade offer for Windows 10. The offer officially expires July 29, 2016, on the one-year anniversary of the operating system's initial release. But what happens then? [Updated] By Ed Bott for The Ed Bott Report | June 17, 2016 -- 17:09...
  13. Spider

    Learn to count to ten the right way

  14. Spider

    10 quick tips to make Windows 10 work the way you want

    Looking for some easy ways to tweak Windows 10 for maximum performance and usability? Mark Kaelin shares 10 handy configuration tricks. By Mark Kaelin | in 10 Things, May 19, 2016, 11:06 AM PST Image: iStockphoto.com/Jürgen François No matter how you look at it, adjusting configuration...
  15. Spider

    How to lock in your free Windows 10 upgrade and keep using your old Windows version

    The year-long free upgrade offer for Windows 10 ends on July 29. But what if you're not ready to upgrade yet? Here's how to claim your upgrade so it's available at no cost when the time comes. By Ed Bott for The Ed Bott Report | May 11, 2016 -- 23:49 GMT (16:49 PDT) Image: ZDNet The...
  16. Spider

    Opera takes on Chrome with power-saving browser that makes laptop batteries last 50 percent longer

    A new battery-saving mode is Opera's latest effort to attract Chrome users across to its desktop browser. By Liam Tung | May 12, 2016 -- 09:52 GMT (02:52 PDT) You can switch on power-saving mode when you're unplugged from a power source. Image: Opera Opera has rolled out a new...
  17. Spider

    Six Windows 10 annoyances: How to make them go away for good

    You've got complaints about Windows 10? Don't worry, you've got plenty of company. From my mailbox, these are the top gripes about Microsoft's new OS, with instructions to help you make those problems vanish. By Ed Bott for The Ed Bott Report | May 5, 2016 -- 13:45 GMT (06:45 PDT) iStock...
  18. Spider

    Windows 10: Here's Microsoft's new look Start menu

    Redmond revamps the Start menu in early builds of Windows 10 as it begins getting ready for the Windows 10 Anniversary Edition this summer. By Nick Heath | April 25, 2016, 4:16 AM PST Microsoft has changed the look of the Start menu in Windows 10. The revamped Start menu is due to be added...
  19. Spider

    Adobe deploys emergency patch for Flash zero-day vulnerability

    The vulnerability has recently been discovered in the Magnitude exploit kit. By Charlie Osborne for Zero Day | April 8, 2016 -- 09:26 GMT (02:26 PDT) Adobe has released an emergency patch to fix a zero-day vulnerability actively being exploited in the wild. On Tuesday, Adobe warned that...
  20. Spider

    Never10: A new tool for turning off Microsoft's Windows 10 update

    There's a new free utility available for 'normals' who don't want their Windows 7 and 8.1 PCs and tablets to automatically update to Windows 10. By Mary Jo Foley for All About Microsoft | March 28, 2016 -- 13:52 GMT (06:52 PDT) As complaints from users about their Windows 7 and 8.1...

Members online

No members online now.
Top