What's new

Clorox / Lysol wipes bad for your screens?

bulls96

I work in a hospital and use my phone and Surface daily. Have made it a habit to clean my gadgets w Clorox or Lysol wipes daily when I get home.

Is it bad for my screens? Have no screen protectors on (have attempted to put on but came out as disasters) and really loving a naked screen.

Not sure what physics work on capacitive screens and wonder if the chemicals have an effect on it.

Thanks in advance!

jnjroach

Administrator
Staff member
Typically anything with Alcohol or Ammonia or Bleach can etch or damage the coating on the screen, it could make the screen appear cloudy or scratched....

leeshor

I thought the title was a joke at first, seriously. You would eventually destroy the screen. Camera lens cleaner or LCD screen cleaner and even then (and only if necessary) spray it on a micro fiber cloth not on the screen. A cheap micro fiber cloth will do 99% of the time.

sharpuser

Administrator
Staff member
Avoid alcohol, ammonia, bleach, petroleum distillates (Lysol) and, yes, even soap, if you can. As jnjroach states above, the coating and even the screen itself will degrade.

Have you noticed how silky-smooth the screen is on your brand new smartphone, tablet, computer, or even eyeglasses? The surfaces of these screens are finely engineered, but are also delicate. (I specialize in nano-surfaces of materials) The surface becomes more micro-pitted and rough with age and chemical treatments. It is a pain to keep a screen-cleaning cloth (available from office supply stores) handy, but worth it*. Just a little water to slightly dampen the cloth makes it very efficient at lifting body oils and sediment from the surface, with minimal damage. After using one of the chemicals warned against above, you then must remove residue (streaks). I'll wager you were probably doing that with a dry or very slightly moist towel at that point, anyway.