What's new

Creative Professional Software Experiences?

kiomon

I just recently got my SB i7, 512, 16gb, dGPU, and now I have installed all of my software. I am an film editor and colorist. I don't expect tip top performance, but I would expect decent performance. I would love to use this thread to post about experiences from users running Pro apps like Adobe Creative Suite, Davinci Resolve, Avid, Fusion, etc.

This is NOT my primary editing machine, but I was hoping to have a windows computer for light edits. I have a fully loaded 15 inch MacBook Pro. And just put my SP3 and a 2015 Retina MacBook up for sale. I have edited on all of these machines successfully with the exception of the SP3. I was hoping the SB could be my windows solution, and ultraportable, replacing the other two.

My experience thus far has been a bit perplexing.I will start with video editing. For a baseline, I have some 4k clips from a GoPro and a Sony RX100IV, and they both play back just fine, and are snappy in built in player. So the computer can play the files just fine and at high resolution.

In adobe premiere the playback is stuttered, and that's with the viewer set to 1/4 resolution. I confirmed that the app is using the dedicated GPU. I can't seem to get smooth playback. Particularly the beginning of the clips, when I start the playback. On longer clips, once it starts playing, it eventually reaches real time playback.

In Davinci Resolve, the situation isn't better. This is a high end program and demands, a lot of system resources. I didn't even attempt to playback the clips without creating proxies. You can create low resolution files that the program can use instead of the complex and high res H264s. Even after waiting two hours for the proxies to be completed, I still cant get real time smooth playback. What seems to happen is the same stuttering at the beginning of playing the clip and then eventually reaches real time.