What's new

iPad Users Habits

jimp

Does anyone else find it strange that everyone on this forum has an iPad?
I have never owned an iPad. I am a website developer and maintainer of dozens of servers, and as hard as I tried to find (force) a use for a tablet in general, I continuously found myself leaving it at home, reaching for my phone (Galaxy S5), or generally wondering if I would have saved time by driving home or to my office to use a desktop computer.

When the SP3 was announced, I finally realized my usage (content creator vs content consumer) really needed a laptop for portability and power, but I just didn't want to take on the extra bulk daily vs carrying a tablet.

My experience with the SP3 has been outstanding. Oh, and it's a tablet when I need it, too. When I need apps the (lacking) Windows Store doesn't provide, Bluestacks with my Android apps is a decent workaround. But seriously, I'm using this tiny machine like crazy. My very capable desktop computer at home has only been powered on to transfer files off of it since I started using the SP3.

Scott Sanford

I, too am an iPad user. Work in IT, so I'm a Windows user most of the time, but equally proficient in Mac OS / UNIX. I like to think of my self as platform agnostic, but I'll be honest, I prefer Mac a bit in terms of design, but appreciate that real business NEEDS to be on Windows.

There are some things I've noticed:

1. Surface is really good, for a Windows machine, it's solid, well built and beautiful. Something Jony Ive might not be too embarrassed by, although it's not "Al-U-minnium" with chamfered edges. <G>

2. Fonts are easier to read on the iPad / Mac, something with the default system fonts, resolutions, etc. it is just easier.