What's new

Quick type cover question

79jonesy

Hi,
Just a quick question - I have turned off the 'let this device wake the computer' option but still the type cover will wake up the SP3. What else do I need to do to stop this? Keep finding it on and hot in my bag. I'm a teacher so constantly moving from room to room.
Thanks.

Wiidesire

Hi,
Just a quick question - I have turned off the 'let this device wake the computer' option but still the type cover will wake up the SP3. What else do I need to do to stop this? Keep finding it on and hot in my bag. I'm a teacher so constantly moving from room to room.
Thanks.
This option will only prevent the device to be woken from Hibernation. What you want to do is block the wake-up while in connected standby. I don't know a way to do this.

malberttoo

Hi,
Thanks.

I just started shutting the SP3 down anytime I wanted to throw it in the bag. The 10 seconds it takes to boot up is no big deal.

It is an inconvenience at times to be sure! I really enjoyed just closing the TypeCover while I was right in the middle of something, and away we go. But the frustration of A) opening the SP3 5 hours later to find it hot in the bag, and then buggy and unresponsive when tried to use it again, and additionally B) my battery nuked of juice, so now in addition to embarrassment in front of client about them having to wait while I got my act together on my buggy SP3 oh AND now I have to hunt down a power outlet as well... the frustration just was not worth the little extra time it took to get my apps and work squared away and then shut down fully.

I'm hopeful that Microsoft will address this soon, either with an update, or hopefully at the very least with the SP4 and a TypeCover that magnetically stays closed.

kundas1