What's new

setting up a replacement SP3

79jonesy

Hi,
I have a replacement SP3 due to be delivered on Thurs from Microsoft. (I'm in the UK and hoping it's a new SP3 and not a refurb ;).) I chose the advanced exchange option so I wouldn't be without a machine. How do I move my current set up to the new SP3? I have all of my documents saved in the onedrive and have signed in with a Microsoft account and not a local machine. I'm completely new to Windows so wasn't sure what to do. Is there a migrate to new computer option like in osx? If so should I use it or set it up from scratch?
Thanks

BillJ

The process is really quite simple. If you have your PC settings set to sync with OneDrive, when you start your new machine it should be automatically populated with:
a) all of your MUI (Modern UI Windows store) applications
b) start screen preferences
c) IE preferences including passwords and sign-ons. Just make sure your old machine is backed up. You will lose all of your x86 applications, and will need to re-install those.
You will also need to redevelop your local OneDrive folder, by allowing data to download to your PC (if you wish to keep your data offline)

I have an SD card with iTunes files that I switch from PC to PC; occasionally that music file becomes unreadable to other computers, and I need to reinstall the music files from an external hard drive that I use for my local backups.

OP

79jonesy

Brilliant. Thanks for the reply. That seems pretty straight forward. Hadn't thought about using an micro SD card for iTunes. Think I'll do that too.

kevroc

I've done this a couple of times now trying out tablets between a Thinkpad 10 and Surface Pro 3, etc.

When setting up the new tablet I was asked if I wanted to use the configuration from one I previously had, kind of like when you get a new iPhone or iPad.