What's new

suggestions for note, email, game apps, why does typing all of a sudden disappear?

disambiguous1

My wife got me the Surface Pro because of the problems I was having with the Mac/iOS platforms. I'm a currency trader, and although there is a Java-based app for the brokers I use, it is obtuse and unreliable, and does not suit my trading style at all. MetaTrader4, the platform I on my main Windows-based trading computer, only works on full-blown Windows (it will not work on the RT). I need a tablet I can grab when my signal alarms go off and immediately react with a platform I know. I also design automated trading systems that work on MT4. So far the Surface Pro seems to work for that.

The other thing I need the Surface Pro for is videography (yeah, I wear a lot of hats). There is a Windows-based piece of software I can get that will enable the SP to work as a monitor for my Nikon video-capable SLRs. That will be a huge boon.

The third thing I will need it for is taking notes. I have been using Notability on my iPad, and it works OK. I am willing to spend the bucks on Note Anytime Premium, but there aren't many reviews of it and I want a lot more info before I shell out that much for an app. Any suggestions for any other note-taking apps, or opinions on Note Anytime Premium, would be welcome.

I am also re-vamping my approach to email. I have several email addresses, with two main ones at Yahoo and Gmail. I have been using iOS, and Gmail works well with my iPhone and iPad. I use the Gmail for critical stuff and the Yahoo accounts for the more mundane material. Any suggestions about good email software to use with the Surface Pro would be appreciated. It also wouldn't break my heart to switch away from Gmail for contacts and calendar. I could go to iCloud, but I'm not sure I'm going to stick with Mac. Any suggestions for scheduling/contacts suppliers that will work with the Surface, Mac, iPhone, and iPad, and sync across all those platforms?