What's new

Surface name rumored to be replaced by HORRIBLE name Lumia.

OP
EMINENT

EMINENT

Where do you get this info from? They don't know them as Nokia xxx, they know them as Lumia xxx - I know this because I work in the mobile industry and deal with clients all day who use a range of different devices, but anyone with a Lumia knows it is a Lumia.

I do as well. And those that do know the difference, butchers the name to Lumina. Which is why it shouldn't be adopted. It sounds weak and it's synonymous with the cheapo 520 on certain carriers like MetroPCS.

I think it's about as tarnished as Windows 8. They should ditch it and Lumia completely, along with all the different bazillion number schemes of their phones. Just horrible naming.

Last edited:

Nuspieds

Hopefully it'll be marketed in a way that it can continue to be available to meet your needs. Thanks for stopping by ;-)
First, as a member who has been here since Feb. 2013, I'm not just "stopping by," so no need to thank me.

Second, with the exception of Dell, I also couldn't care less who manufactures the "Surface" device. And if the Surface Pro didn't exist, then I'd buy a laptop that met my needs. It's that simple.

I care more about a device that meets my functional needs than I do about its name. It's that simple.

benjitek

...They should ditch it and Lumia completely, along with all the different bazillion number schemes of their phones. Just horrible naming...
+1 for:
Surface
Surface Pro
Surface Phone
:smile:

It would make more sense that they bought Nokia for the patents and not the name.

Last edited:
OP
EMINENT

EMINENT

First, as a member who has been here since Feb. 2013, I'm not just "stopping by," so no need to thank me.

Second, with the exception of Dell, I also couldn't care less who manufactures the "Surface" device. And if the Surface Pro didn't exist, then I'd buy a laptop that met my needs. It's that simple.