Can I use SP3 charger with SP6?

Discussion in 'Surface Pro 6' started by r_europe, Nov 8, 2018.

  1. r_europe

    r_europe Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2013
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Romania, Croatia, UK, Belgium, France
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I have just bought an SP6 in the UK, even though most of my use is in continental Europe. The brand new charger plug has a sticker on it full of stern warnings about how the device must be earthed and the plug fused.

    I don't want to carry the bulky UK plug, with adapter, around with me all the time My questions are:
    • can I simply plug in a European style cable into the charger, despite the warnings?;
    • can I just use my SP3 charger for the SP6?
    The SP3 charger says its output is 2.58A at 12V, whilst the SP6 charger'output is labelled 2.58A at 15V.

    Sorry for the elementary questions. I just don't want to risk harming my new baby...
     
  2. yonghong

    yonghong Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2013
    Messages:
    250
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I do , I have 3 SP3 chargers , I use one of them to charge SP6, perfect, maybe it’s not as fast as SP6 one , SP3 is 45w, SP6 one maybe 55w


    从我的 iPhone 发送,使用 Tapatalk Pro
     
  3. GreyFox7

    GreyFox7 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6,894
    Likes Received:
    1,385
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Somebody gets shocked using it in a bathtub and all of a sudden lawyers force you to put Stern warning stickers on everything. :eek:
     
  4. sharpuser

    sharpuser Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2013
    Messages:
    3,861
    Likes Received:
    1,182
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Eastern USA & China
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    DO NOT EAT
     
  5. GreyFox7

    GreyFox7 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6,894
    Likes Received:
    1,385
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Oh man, I thought those were real peanuts packed in the box. :D
     
  6. r_europe

    r_europe Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2013
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Romania, Croatia, UK, Belgium, France
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Thanks for your replies, guys. Love it!

    Just for the record - I went on Microsoft live chat for this and they were helpful (and efficient!). Basically they said that I should really only use the dedicated charger intended for each Surface Pro version - as you might expect. When pushed, though, they admitted that I could eventually use the SP3 charger for the SP6, but that it would be slower. They nevertheless maintained that I should definitely not use the SP6 charger on the SP3.

    As for using a nice slim European 2-pin plug, when in Europe, in a UK-purchased SP6 charger - instead of the bulky UK thing - they said 'no problem'.

    There you go. Chapter and verse...
     

Share This Page