dual monitor output without docking station?

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro' started by cisco ciscon, Mar 18, 2015.

  1. cisco ciscon

    cisco ciscon New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hey
    I have the docking station at home and I'm getting the another monitor shipped in. I dont wan't to buy another docking station nor carry one to work everyday ( I have two monitors at work). Anyways, do you guys think that I can get dual monitors without the docking station? Thanks !
     
  2. GreyFox7

    GreyFox7 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6,341
    Likes Received:
    1,279
    Trophy Points:
    113
    With the right DisplayPort 1.2 monitor you can Daisy Chain from first DP 1.2 monitor to a second monitor.

    You can get an adapter that will connect from the DP to two monitors (DP, DVI, HDMI typically some may do VGA pfft).

    You can get an adapter that will connect via USB to two monitors (typically DVI, HDMI or VGA) some new adapters may give you DisplayPort.

    What kind of connections do your monitors have? DP 1.1 or 1.2? DVI?, HDMI?
     
    cisco ciscon likes this.
  3. cisco ciscon

    cisco ciscon New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    they are all vga monitors. I'm weary of the USB adapters. They gave us one here at work and it just doesnt work.

    thanks!
     
  4. GreyFox7

    GreyFox7 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6,341
    Likes Received:
    1,279
    Trophy Points:
    113
    At some point it pays to upgrade technology... after all, laser inscribed granite tablets will only take you so far. :)
     
    cisco ciscon likes this.
  5. zhenya

    zhenya Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2013
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    66
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Dual monitors to vga might work, or it might be problematic.

    You will need a displayport hub and the displayport to vga adapters. I would not be surprised if you have issues connecting to these at times though. And you'll spend almost as much as the docking station costs.
     
    cisco ciscon and GreyFox7 like this.
  6. cisco ciscon

    cisco ciscon New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    thanks... looks like im luggin the docking station to the office the next few months lol
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

double screen without a docking station

,

dual monitor without docking station