Help with i7 - What is listed in Device Settings for CPU?

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 4' started by Dim-Ize, Feb 7, 2016.

  1. Dim-Ize

    Dim-Ize Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2013
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Brentwood, TN
    I am about to buy a SP4 on Craigslist from a local seller. It is listed as an i7 with 265 storage.

    I want to ensure the CPU is indeed an i7 when I get there today.

    What is displayed when selecting My Computer, Properties ? Intel Core i7 - 6650U? (for example, my SP2 shows the following: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-4200U CPU @ 1.60GHz 2.30 GHz).

    How else could I ensure it is an i7 when I boot it up before purchase?

    Thanks!
     
  2. dcoplien

    dcoplien Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2016
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Wisoconsin
    My Device:
    SPro4
    Right click on My Computer and it will tell you. If you don't find the icon on the desktop, with Win 10 go to settings, personalization, themes, desktop icon settings
     
    Dim-Ize likes this.
  3. GreyFox7

    GreyFox7 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6,331
    Likes Received:
    1,279
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Yes it would indicate i7-6650U

    You could take a USB stick with you with HWINFO & CPU-Z on it, perhaps Passmark and or PCmark. a micro SD card to make sure everything works.
     
    Dim-Ize likes this.
  4. dcoplien

    dcoplien Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2016
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Wisoconsin
    My Device:
    SPro4
    If you want to make sure you are not getting an SP3 upgraded to Win 10, run the surface app, click on the smile icon. Among other things, it will show 3 or 4.
     
    Dim-Ize likes this.
  5. Amar95353

    Amar95353 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2015
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    3
    My Device:
    SPro4
    You don't really need to do that. Surface pro 4 has all of the buttons including power and volume on the top edge of the surface whereas the pro 3 has the power button on the top edge and the volume buttons are placed on the left edge. It also has the windows hello camera and ir emitter which produces a red glow when activated and furthermore you will notice the absence of a windows touch button on the pro 4's screen bezel which the pro 3 has.
     
    Dim-Ize and Echrada like this.
  6. Amar95353

    Amar95353 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2015
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    3
    My Device:
    SPro4
    You could also identify the cpu model through the task manager if you open the task manager and click on the performance tab then click on cpu it will give you all of the details of the cpu within the surface on the right hand side.
     
    Dim-Ize likes this.
  7. Dim-Ize

    Dim-Ize Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2013
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Brentwood, TN
    All set. Thanks community :)
     

Share This Page