How to change what the purple pen button does...

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 3' started by mitchellvii, Sep 3, 2014.

  1. mitchellvii

    mitchellvii Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2013
    Messages:
    2,483
    Likes Received:
    559
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I am trying to use EventGhost:



    to see if I can program my pen's bluetooth button double-click to launch the SnippingTool.exe instead of sending a screenclip to OneNote. I just prefer it.

    Now here is the weird part. If you go to Windows Accessories and {Shift}+{Right Click}+{Copy As Path} Snipping Tool it will return:

    C:\Windows\System32\SnippingTool.exe

    as it should. However, if you actually go to the System32 folder and look for it, guess what, NO SnippingTool.exe. Bizarre. The program clearly works but the path points to a non-existent .exe. So strange.

    Anyone have any idea here? I can't launch this with EventGhost because the path doesn't work even though I know the path is correct. Where is SnippingTool.exe?
     
    Last edited: Sep 3, 2014
  2. daniielrp

    daniielrp Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2013
    Messages:
    693
    Likes Received:
    133
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Preston, UK
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Can you right click and open file location?
     
  3. foghat

    foghat Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2014
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    18
    My Device:
    SPro3
    It is there for me. What happens if you copy and paste that location in windows explorer?
     

    Attached Files:

  4. Telstar1948

    Telstar1948 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2013
    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    78
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Columbia, Missouri
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    Unfortunately, I don't have an SP3 handy to check, but on my Win 8.1 Pro desktop machine SnippingTool.exe is in the System32 folder down below where the individual files are shown. First you see all those other folders in the System 32 folder and then below them the individual files in alphabetical order till you see SnippingTool.exe.
     
  5. GreyFox7

    GreyFox7 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6,340
    Likes Received:
    1,279
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Do you have all file types enabled in explorer?
     
  6. mitchellvii

    mitchellvii Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2013
    Messages:
    2,483
    Likes Received:
    559
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Thanks for the responses. Ok, it is now showing up in the System32 folder (who knows why it didn't before), but when I try to set up an Action Item in EventGhost to launch it with the following path:

    C:\Windows\System32\SnippingTool.exe

    EventGhost says, "The system cannot find the file specified".

    Weird.

    If I test with another app, say "Calc.exe" it launches it just fine.
     
  7. Liam2349

    Liam2349 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2014
    Messages:
    884
    Likes Received:
    132
    Trophy Points:
    43
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Perhaps it is a problem with permissions? You might have to properly take ownership of system32.
     
    ctitanic likes this.
  8. mitchellvii

    mitchellvii Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2013
    Messages:
    2,483
    Likes Received:
    559
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I'm beginning to think I may need a different Python Command Trigger Event than this one:

    eg.TriggerEvent(eg.event.payload[0][8:25], prefix = eg.event.suffix)

    to identify the double-click. Right now, single click and double click are launching the calc.exe test app.
     
  9. mitchellvii

    mitchellvii Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2013
    Messages:
    2,483
    Likes Received:
    559
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Don't think so. It lets me launch calc.exe from same folder.
     
  10. GreyFox7

    GreyFox7 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6,340
    Likes Received:
    1,279
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Reboot. obi wan says: these aren't the exes you're looking for.
    you might need another unannounced system update. :-(
     
  11. mitchellvii

    mitchellvii Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2013
    Messages:
    2,483
    Likes Received:
    559
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Ok, so apparently the problem is with EventGhost itself. For some reason, even though SnippingTool.exe exists in the System32 folder, EventGhost does not see it. No idea why that would be. It seems to see everything BUT SnippingTool.exe.

    GOT IT!
    For some reason I had to click the box that says:

    "Disable WOW64 filsystem redirection for this application".

    Once I did that EventGhost now saw and opened the app. Weird.
     
  12. GreyFox7

    GreyFox7 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6,340
    Likes Received:
    1,279
    Trophy Points:
    113
    What if you copy the exe to another folder?
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
change surface pen button
,
change surface pen button action
,
change surface pen buttons
,

change what surface pen button does

,
change what the surface pen button does
,
eventghost surface
,
eventghost surface 3 pen
,

eventghost surface pen

,
surface change pen button
,
surface pen button change