What's new

I3/I5 and "is this normal" questions.

oscarzeta

Just wanted to introduce myself and make my first post. I just purchased a Surface this past week. Originally I had purchased an i3 and I didn't have any problems with it, but I switched to an I5 anyway, because I wanted a bit more power. I'm using it to help me run a small psychotherapy practice. I'd been using an ipad before this and it was just too limiting. I figured it would be a real convenience to have a PC in a tablet form with both PC and tablet capabilities.

I noticed right away with the I5 that it will get hotter than the I3 and that the fan will come on occasionally, mainly when I'm downloading large files. And actually, it doesn't come on that much even then; just more than the I3.

Today, I went ahead and downloaded a couple of older PC games from the late 1990s. The first game is called "Gabriel Knight: Sins of the Father." I started playing it and I immediately noticed that after the first few minutes, the I5 got warm to the touch and the fan was on. I was surprised because it's not exactly a very involved game. It's just point and click, about a 600mb file size total. I'm not all that computer literate, but should this be expected? Will I not be able to even play older games from the 90s?

It's not a deal-breaker, as I didn't get the I5 for gaming, but when I have an extra hour at the end of the day, it's fun to do sometimes. Would I be better off with the I3, if I don't need the extra power? I guess my main question is if the I5 is more powerful, why does it get hotter and need the fan more often?

Thanks for any help. I don't want to seem like I'm just complaining. I love this device and I just want to be realistic about my expectations of it.

ctitanic

A move powerful is the CPU dissipates more heat.

Old games may use more CPU and less GPU than new games. Also there are games well designed and games with very bad coding. You can see the SP3 getting hot with a Sudoku game.

kundas1