i7 Gaming Potential

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 4' started by Sedaisan, Oct 20, 2015.

  1. Sedaisan

    Sedaisan New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My Device:
    None
    New to Surface and pre-ordered an i7 with Iris. Do you think the SP4 i7/16/256 would be able to run an older game like Skyrim in Ultra? I've seen it running on a Surface Pro 3 i3...



    Thanks for any info and enjoy the day...
     
  2. daniielrp

    daniielrp Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2013
    Messages:
    693
    Likes Received:
    133
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Preston, UK
    My Device:
    SPro3
    On ultra? Doubt it. You could maybe get 720p on medium-high. Maybe.
     
  3. barry.pearson

    barry.pearson New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2015
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    My Device:
    SPro4
    I remember going to a Microsoft event for the Surface Pro 3 and they had Skyrim on some of the devices to show off the power, it was set to high but the frame rate was pretty low, at a guess high teens low twenties. I would imagine you'd get a good playing experience on medium or on a lower resolution however.
     
  4. starstreak

    starstreak Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2013
    Messages:
    205
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I'm hoping I can use the SP4 I7,w/16GB to run Fallout 4 at low to medium. I don't want the Surface Book, although I see the dedicated card would be a good choice. I really, really wish they made the SB a SP4 w/they special keyboard w/discrete graphics. I couldn't leave the SB keyboard in a bag, and use the tablet without all the ports being on it. I would need the keyboard side attached for the most part then. Then I might as well look at the newer gaming notebooks. But I'll miss the whole point of having a tablet and pen. Augh.
     
  5. daniielrp

    daniielrp Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2013
    Messages:
    693
    Likes Received:
    133
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Preston, UK
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Fallout 4? Maybe not looking at the graphics spec requirements...

    NVIDIA GTX 550 Ti 2GB/AMD Radeon HD 7870 2GB or equivalent

    Intel graphics aren't mentioned, and they have no dedicated VRAM. You could probably run it but would be pretty poor performance.
     
  6. Johnny365

    Johnny365 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2015
    Messages:
    295
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I'm sure Fallout 4 will run on SP3 devices as well, but a lower resolution and effects mainly on Low. It won't look pretty and you'll see a lot of pop-in as you get closer in environnments.
     
  7. kundas1

    kundas1 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2013
    Messages:
    1,653
    Likes Received:
    299
    Trophy Points:
    83
    My Device:
    SPro3
    that's a pretty expensive gaming device if you ask me... nowadays you can build a nice gaming rig for like $500 bucks and have way better results... u cant bring it with you of course but then again where are you gonna game? on the bus, in class? at work? LOL and how are you going to set up your mouse and keyboard? you need a place for a "set up" like a desk...
     
  8. daniielrp

    daniielrp Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2013
    Messages:
    693
    Likes Received:
    133
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Preston, UK
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Well both games support Xbox One controller so that helps...

    But $500? Maybe just on the gfx card :p
     
    MagicPoop likes this.
  9. kundas1

    kundas1 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2013
    Messages:
    1,653
    Likes Received:
    299
    Trophy Points:
    83
    My Device:
    SPro3
    no way, usually that's over kill, and future proof for a video card that much, I have a NVidia 750 ti 2GB card and bought it for less than $200 and on my other rig I got 2 Sapphire Dual-V R9 280X 3GB in crossfire for $280... and are both more than adequate for gaming! :p
     
  10. daniielrp

    daniielrp Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2013
    Messages:
    693
    Likes Received:
    133
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Preston, UK
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Ha yeh 500 is way too overkill (though my mate did buy a Titan X... yep, for £900...)

    I have a MSI 7970 with 3GB in my rig, bought it 2nd hand for £120 plus £45 for custom cooler. Plays everything just fine (and below 55 degrees) including GTA V which is why I bought it haha. So that's about $220 ish.
     
  11. kundas1

    kundas1 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2013
    Messages:
    1,653
    Likes Received:
    299
    Trophy Points:
    83
    My Device:
    SPro3
    exact reason I bought my 2 sapphire V R9 280 cards! lol but it turns out GTA 5 is not working well with those cards...very disappointed with GTA 5 coding and they had nerve to postpone the game twice only to have trouble with AMD Cards! sheesh!
     
  12. hughlle

    hughlle Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2014
    Messages:
    2,701
    Likes Received:
    422
    Trophy Points:
    83
    It works just great on my hd7750 :)
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
m3 surface gaming vram
,

skyrim on surface book i7

,
skyrim surface pro 4 i7
,
sp4 i7 vs surface book gaming
,

surface pro 4 i7 gaming