new firmware installed today, battery report does not show mWh or capacity still

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 2' started by Knubblo, Jan 20, 2014.

  1. Knubblo

    Knubblo New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2013
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi,

    Anyone else with same problem. Prior new firmware powercfg /batteryreport did not show any capacity figures or mWh. It only lists percentage drain at certain dates and cycles times. Currently 52.

    Why is that? I would like the battery report to give me the battery report not just an almost empty html-page.

    Suggestions?

    Kind regards
    Knubblo
     
  2. jrapdx

    jrapdx Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    259
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Oregon
    Using the command: powercfg /batteryreport, the html report was rather extensive with info about battery capacity, etc. Not sure if this is what you were missing:

    battery-report.jpg

    AFAICT the battery report seemed to work on this machine.
     
  3. Swissmorgy

    Swissmorgy New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2013
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Same here after the January-update: still no capacity-information.
     
  4. FFX

    FFX Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2012
    Messages:
    225
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Sweden
    My Device:
    S2
    I have never been able to see capacity not on my Surface 1 or Surface 2. I'm starting to believe its only possible to see those stats with the en/us version. I don't think that it's an error, or any thing that Microsoft will be bothered with.
     
  5. Korlon

    Korlon Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Where are you running the battery report command from? the cmd window?
    I tried running it but it says I don't have the proper admin access. How do I get around this?
     
  6. hazymat

    hazymat New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2013
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    I have en/gb version, I've had a lot of battery problems, however in my case it didn't affect the battery report.

    I can see capacity perfectly fine on my surface...
     
  7. sockfish

    sockfish New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2013
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Same here, battery still doesn't report correctly after the firmware update.
     
  8. Rvacha

    Rvacha Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2013
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Yes, the Command window, but you must start it as an administrator (tap and hold or right-click the icon to see this option)
     
  9. mikedg

    mikedg New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Mine is abyssmal, wtf
    I got about 3 hours this morning
    Information about each currently installed battery

    BATTERY 1

    NAME X863568
    MANUFACTURER SDI
    CHEMISTRY LION
    DESIGN CAPACITY 42,002 mWh

    FULL CHARGE CAPACITY 25,685 mWh
    CYCLE COUNT 29
     
  10. bluegrass

    bluegrass Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2013
    Messages:
    1,300
    Likes Received:
    193
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    St. Louis, Mo
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Wow!. What a command & report. I found you need to be at a command prompt(go to the desktop & hold down the Windows button for awhile and then let up until you see a menu) or you can just type "command prompt" at the start menu if you have a keyboard attached & than type in the command mentioned. I don't understand, at least at first look, but the report was about 8 full screens in length. It had lots of information. Don't know if I would use any of it but it's there to decipher.
     
  11. Knubblo

    Knubblo New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2013
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi,

    Yes I get the html report but no mWh figures are mentioned in the report. However there are preset columns where the headlines says mWh but no figures below. Only percentage is shown which is useless without the absolute number.

    I've run the report several times with same result.

    Please help.

    Kind regards
    Knubblo
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

battery report blank

,

battery report mwh no info

,

batteryreport mwh no info

,
cycle count empty battery report surface
,
powercfg batteryreport empty
,
powercfg capacity batteryreport
,
sp2 batteryreport
,
surface 3 battery report does not show battery capacity
,
surface 3 battery report wont display
,
windows battery report no capacity displayed