Remote Control Your Surface RT

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface General Discussion' started by ArnoldC, Jan 11, 2013.

  1. ArnoldC

    ArnoldC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Messages:
    1,537
    Likes Received:
    110
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Makati, Philippines
    ... using a really, really old technology

    [​IMG]

    I believe this has been available during XP days, and it's still here today. Here I am from my Acer S3 running Windows 8 Enterprise, and remoting to my Surface RT.

    If this has been discussed, posted before, please merge or delete.
     
    1 person likes this.
  2. J515OP

    J515OP Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    2,177
    Likes Received:
    262
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Northern CA
    My Device:
    RT
    I don't think anybody has discussed remoting into the RT, only the other way. Nice to know it can be done. That is a question frequently asked about Android tablets which have no obvious solution to allow it. So chalk up another feature on the Surface not readily available on the competitors.
     
  3. uh60james

    uh60james New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Southeastern US
    That's pretty neat, it seems nobody thinks about remoting into a mobile device. I'm sure this will be useful for some.
     
  4. leeshor

    leeshor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    5,071
    Likes Received:
    877
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Norcross, GA
    My Device:
    SPro4
    I can't count the number of people requesting they be able to do that on Android. Nice!!!!
     
  5. Sin

    Sin New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2012
    Messages:
    470
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    My Device:
    RT
    Definitely useful from a support point of view. I have had to sort through iPad issues with my parents over the phone, since they were traveling and were having difficulties. Would have been significantly easier to sort out if I could have had remote access to the device. I can see this being a huge benefit to corporate IT.
     
  6. J515OP

    J515OP Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    2,177
    Likes Received:
    262
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Northern CA
    My Device:
    RT
    I call shenanigans, nobody ever has trouble with iPads. They are intuitive and just work.


    ;)
     
  7. stlbud

    stlbud Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2012
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I don't have any trouble with my iPad. [video=youtube_share;TtXWWRyJLPw]http://youtu.be/TtXWWRyJLPw[/video] :big smile:
     
  8. leeshor

    leeshor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    5,071
    Likes Received:
    877
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Norcross, GA
    My Device:
    SPro4
    And pigs can fly. ;);)
     
  9. J515OP

    J515OP Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    2,177
    Likes Received:
    262
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Northern CA
    My Device:
    RT
    Did you seriously just say that?

    [video=youtube;o-r4Z1K_LDc]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o-r4Z1K_LDc[/video]

    :p
     
    1 person likes this.
  10. leeshor

    leeshor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    5,071
    Likes Received:
    877
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Norcross, GA
    My Device:
    SPro4
    That is actually not a bad commercial. I got over the cavemen long ago. ;);)
     
  11. ut1205

    ut1205 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've tried to use Remote Assistant to access my laptop from the tablet but can't get it to work, however, the "TeamViewer" app works great to access my laptop from the tablet. I would like to be able to access my Desktop from the tablet but the Desktop will not install "TeamViewer 8" and the "TeamViewer" app requires that version.
     
  12. Sin

    Sin New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2012
    Messages:
    470
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    My Device:
    RT
    My Apple friends always tell that same thing. My Dad knows enough to be very dangerous and my Mom just wants things to work and if it doesn't or the issue was caused by my Dad, they call me. The issue with my Mom's iPad was hardware and I wouldn't have been able to fix. It eventually completely gave up and would no longer charge. Apple did just replace it since it was defective.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
how to remote control surface rt
,
microsoft surface remote control
,
remote control a surface rt
,
remote control for surface rt
,

remote control surface rt

,
surface remote control
,
surface rt remote control
,
teamviewer for surface rt
,
teamviewer on surface rt
,

teamviewer surface rt