SP3 new screen

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 3' started by Ryukote, Dec 11, 2017.

  1. Ryukote

    Ryukote New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My Device:
    SPro3
  2. Wayne Orwig

    Wayne Orwig Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2013
    Messages:
    369
    Likes Received:
    47
    Trophy Points:
    28
    On a SP1, I got a kit to help me.
    iOpener Toolkit
    You apply heat to the glue that holds the display on. It takes a lot of time and care to loosen the glue. It is VERY easy to damage a cable so you need to go slowly. In the end, I damaged a connector on the motherboard, so I had issues with the unit after that.
    It can be done. It is fragile.
     
  3. Ryukote

    Ryukote New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My Device:
    SPro3
    But is that what I need? The only thing I need to replace is front screen, since only glass is cracked and screen is working normally.
     
  4. Wayne Orwig

    Wayne Orwig Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2013
    Messages:
    369
    Likes Received:
    47
    Trophy Points:
    28
    When I did my SP1, just buying the screen was everything, the touch portion, and the pen portion. It was all in one. I can not say for certain that Ebay listing is the same.
     
  5. Jay Marino

    Jay Marino Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2015
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    8
    I have contacted several places about a cracked screen. They all tell me the same thing.
    1.) It's not worth fixing
    2.) They cannot warranty any work
    3.) Most likely, they will damage it while repairing
    4.) It's probably cheaper/better to just buy a new one
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

azs