Surface Pro 3 and the Dock

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 3' started by Fredwalks, Jul 2, 2015.

  1. Fredwalks

    Fredwalks New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2014
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Hi There,

    I've recently purchased the dock for surface pro 3. Brilliant !
    Several ports, a lock,. I definitively like it..

    Except that, ..., for specifically licenced softwares ( that I would assume MAC/... based ) that I own ( from purchase ) these does not recognize my Surface as the same computer. This is also applicable to iTunes by the way.

    I've checked, it works fine, off dock or on the external power supply.

    It would probably require some attention
     
  2. malberttoo

    malberttoo Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2013
    Messages:
    2,255
    Likes Received:
    428
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Alaska
    My Device:
    SPro3
    That's really odd. I haven't heard of that, but maybe someone else here has.
     
  3. surfdock

    surfdock Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2014
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    47
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Hi Fredwalks, can you be a little more specific about the error messages you're receiving?

    Have you tried uninstalling the applications, attaching Surface to the dock, then re-installing using your license keys while still attached to the dock?

    If the software is balking at additional device capabilities exposed through the dock like the Gig Ethernet and preventing you from using full functionality of the app, then that goes against all the guidance on MSDN about how apps should operate. Devices like Surface Pro 3 are designed to be used with many external peripherals so it would be best to raise the issue with the app vendors directly and like you said it definitely requires some attention.

    Many folks can use ITunes just fine, so it sounds like there is a problem with your install. Try uninstalling and grabbing the very latest and let us know the result.

    Cheers,
    Dan
     
  4. kozak79

    kozak79 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    60
    Trophy Points:
    28
    I think what he's saying is that he bought software that when licensed used his WiFi MAC address for authentications. When he plugs the dock in with Ethernet plugged in, the MAC address for Ethernet is different and MAC authentication fails. Am I right?
     
  5. leeshor

    leeshor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    5,071
    Likes Received:
    877
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Norcross, GA
    My Device:
    SPro4
    I am not aware, (any more) of any industry standard software dependent on the MAC address of a computer. iTunes shouldn't be a problem so long as you haven't authorized it on too many systems without DE-authorizing it.
     
  6. bugmenot1234

    bugmenot1234 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2014
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

surface pro 3 wifi slow 5g