What's new

system password

subverta

Hi, is there no system password (startup pw) on the surface pro 3 OS? I went into BIOS and changed the admin password but I dont see an option for system password. Thanks

malberttoo

Hi, is there no system password (startup pw) on the surface pro 3 OS? I went into BIOS and changed the admin password but I dont see an option for system password. Thanks

Welcome to the forum.

The Surface Pro 3 uses the UEFI, what you called the BIOS. It does not have a "system" password, and the admin password that you found only locks down the UEFI, not the system itself.

OP
S

subverta

Thanks Malbert. I'm just learning about the surface pro. My new job has me learning about them and testing them out for office use. Is there something else I can use to add an extra layer of security in case a tablet gets "stolen or misplaced" I put an admin pw so UEFI is locked down and the windows user pw of course but the system pw was another nice feature to use and kept the higher ups happy for security on the laptops.

malberttoo

Thanks Malbert. I'm just learning about the surface pro. My new job has me learning about them and testing them out for office use. Is there something else I can use to add an extra layer of security in case a tablet gets "stolen or misplaced" I put an admin pw so UEFI is locked down and the windows user pw of course but the system pw was another nice feature to use and kept the higher ups happy for security on the laptops.

You mentioned "stolen, misplaced, and security". For the first two, check out Prey (https://preyproject.com/), the first 3 devices are free, or you can of course use the much more well-known LoJack For Laptops (http://www.lojack.com/Laptops), but I believe they are pricier than Prey. But they are also a more enterprise-class app than Prey.