What is a hidden network?

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 3' started by mudd.puddle, Oct 15, 2015.

  1. mudd.puddle

    mudd.puddle New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I have a hidden network that shows up wherever I go. Is this of use to me why do I have it?
     
  2. daniielrp

    daniielrp Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2013
    Messages:
    693
    Likes Received:
    133
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Preston, UK
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I'm not following sorry - if it's hidden, how does it show up? Can you post a screenshot?
     
    GreyFox7 likes this.
  3. Tsurugaya

    Tsurugaya Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2014
    Messages:
    395
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    28
    You have it because you've logged into it and you selected the automatic login feature. That way it will show up if you would like to connect to it again.
     
  4. mudd.puddle

    mudd.puddle New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Cant recall ever logging into it. I do not have the password. Is there a way to remove it?
    On a side note I have two logins one has my Hotmail email assigned to it with my full name and the other with my first name. They both use my windows live password. Not sure how I got two login prompts to sign into my computer. Under User accounts there is only one admin. Mine. Is there a way to fix this. I didn't encounter the problem until I made new aliases under my windows live account for outlook. Cant upload the snap shot. :/

    I went into settings wifi and it is not under my known wifi networks.
    n networks.. Its at my cabin its at my parents house its at my brothers house its at the library. No idea what it is.
     
    Last edited: Oct 17, 2015
  5. Tsurugaya

    Tsurugaya Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2014
    Messages:
    395
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    28
    You men that when you tap/click the Wi-Fi icon on the taskbar on the bottom of the Wi-Fi list you see Hidden network?

    If that is the case someone within range has a router set to not broadcast the SSID. Nothing to worry about.
     
    leeshor likes this.

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

what is a hidden network