What's new

Walked Into MS Wanting to Love the Surface Pro 3, but Didn't, What Am I Missing?

Capt Crunch

Couple caveats: 1) I drink the apple kool-aid, 2) I'm not a troll

I've always had macs, but ever since I've started working I've been using the ms office suite which I think is fantastic. I'm a consultant and I use pretty much the entire office suite. My work laptop is a workstation which is enormous since part of my job deals with very large datasets. I've since become a manager and do less of the heavy lifting-- I'm much more likely to be annotating a PowerPoint on the plane than building some massive model. Sounds like a surface is right up my alley. I went to the local MS store, however and was pretty disappointed:

1. 2/3 of the demo units didn't work. Not a BFD IMO.
  2. None of the office apps use the metro interface except onenote
  3. You can't annotate powerpoint directly
  4. Onenote has several limitations:
    1. The metro onenote apparently only syncs to the desktop copy through sharepoint/onedrive. Useless if I'm on a plane. I'm really boggled by this.
    2. The workflow for handwritten notes in cumbersome. I'm using the desktop interface, pecking with a stylus, and it takes like 4 clicks to do a paragraph... that doesn't do very well formatting my admittedly bad handwriting.
I really like the metro interface. I'm willing to break out of my apple ecosystem to have an effective tablet that is good for content creation as well as consumption. And yet, 30 minutes in the store and I was spending most of my time in the desktop, using desktop apps. I might as well be on a laptop.