Does Type Cover 2 work?

Discussion in 'Surface 3 (Atom)' started by Deihmos, Jun 28, 2015.

  1. Deihmos

    Deihmos Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2014
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    8
    I have a Pro 2 and I think I am going to get rid of it and get the Surface 3 instead. Can I use the Pro 2 type cover 2 with it?
     
  2. Garyjk

    Garyjk Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    18
    it'll work, but it's a different size and the s3 keyboard has a few different keys.
     
  3. malberttoo

    malberttoo Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2013
    Messages:
    2,255
    Likes Received:
    428
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Alaska
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Indeed, your S3 and your Type Cover are different "shapes" of a rectangle. So the Type Cover will work, it just won't cover the S3 exactly.
     
  4. Deihmos

    Deihmos Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2014
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    8
    I see. I think I'll just keep the pro 2. Not happy with the weight and thickness though.
     
  5. malberttoo

    malberttoo Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2013
    Messages:
    2,255
    Likes Received:
    428
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Alaska
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I went from a Surface Pro (1) to an SP3. Best thing I've ever done. The change in form factor alone (16:9, going to 3:2) made the device, for me, so much more useful. If you don't need a Surface 3 for "power user" type needs, I encourage you to at least check one out, if you can.
     
  6. Deihmos

    Deihmos Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2014
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Nah I prefer to use my i7 12gb ram, 256gb ssd + 1tb laptop. I see the pro 3 as more a laptop than tablet. The surface 3 is interesting because I don't need that power and it is more portable. I have completely changed my mind on it.
     
  7. bluelark

    bluelark New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My Device:
    Surface 3 (Atom)
    I went from a Surface 2 RT to a Surface 3. I sill use my type cover 2 and it works great. It's around 3/4" shorter on the top edge and around 1/3' wider on each side. It still fits in my case so it's all good.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
add type cover 2 to surface 3
,
does a mirosoft surface 3 type cover work on a surface 2
,
does microsoft type cover 2 work on surface 3
,
does surface 2 cover work on surface 3
,
does surface 2 type cover work for surface 3
,

does the surface 2 type cover work with surface 3

,
is type cover 2 work on surface 3
,
surface 2 type cover work with surface 3
,
will surface 2 type cover work on surface 3
,
will surface 2 type cover work with surface 3