Get Surface to Automatically connect to Bluetooth Mouse?

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface General Discussion' started by mdfire, Jan 27, 2013.

  1. mdfire

    mdfire Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2012
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Ireland
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I got a Bluetooth mouse today which when paired with the surface works great. Problem is when I close the surface down or go out of range, I have to manually remove and add the mouse again. Surely there is an easier way to automatically connect when I turn the mouse on?
     
  2. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    4,205
    Likes Received:
    1,039
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    SPro3
    What brand is your Mouse? I have paired a Microsoft Wedge Mouse with my Surface and it re-connects automatically even if I've not used it in a while.
     
  3. mdfire

    mdfire Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2012
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Ireland
    My Device:
    SPro3
    speedlink? its fairly cheap
     
  4. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    4,205
    Likes Received:
    1,039
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Hmmm....do you know which rev it is using for its Bluetooth Stack, is it a 2.0, 2.1, 3.0 or 4.0? I haven't tried anything but 3.0 (Bluetooth Notebook Mouse 5000) and 4.0 (the Wedge Mouse). Both reconnected automatically. You can also check in the Devices and Printers (Desktop Control Panel) and right click on the mouse and go to properties to see if there is the ability to reconnect automatically.

    HTH,
     
  5. mdfire

    mdfire Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2012
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Ireland
    My Device:
    SPro3
  6. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    4,205
    Likes Received:
    1,039
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Are you using the built-in Bluetooth or the Mouse Supplied Bluetooth receiver?
     
  7. ArnoldC

    ArnoldC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Messages:
    1,538
    Likes Received:
    110
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Makati, Philippines
    My really old, perhaps BT 2.0 Genius BT mouse never manifests this issue. When I come back in range all I have to do is wake up the mouse.
     
  8. yeewiz

    yeewiz Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2012
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Las Vegas, USA
    My Device:
    SPro2
    I'm using a Logitech V470 BT mouse. No problem at all with mouse auto reconnecting when RT is restarted or awakened. Sounds like it's your mouse that's the problem
     
    Last edited: Jan 27, 2013
  9. J515OP

    J515OP Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    2,180
    Likes Received:
    262
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Northern CA
    My Device:
    RT
    Time to upgrade. Go for the wedge!
     
  10. mdfire

    mdfire Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2012
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Ireland
    My Device:
    SPro3
  11. Corrosive

    Corrosive New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Chiming in... I use a cheap Lenovo bt mouse that I keep in my backpack from time to time and it works. I think I got it with a coupon for around 15 shipped... It has been trouble free. I set the surface up, turn on the mouse, and away we go.
     
  12. ArnoldC

    ArnoldC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Messages:
    1,538
    Likes Received:
    110
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Makati, Philippines
    It never happened to me with the Surface RT, but it happened multiple times with my Acer S3, regardless of the operating system used, i.e., Windows 7 or Windows 8. It is the same mouse, a Genius BT mouse, that does not cause any problems with the Surface RT.

    Having said that, it is unfair to point the finger to just one device.
     
  13. mdfire

    mdfire Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2012
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Ireland
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I also got a bluetooth speaker as i dont like the low volume on surface for skype calls. Connected to a Galaxy S3 the sound is excellent. Connected to the surface the sound is well...crap.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
bluetooth mouse for surface rt
,
connect bluetooth mouse to surface
,
connect mouse to surface
,
connecting bluetooth mouse to surface
,
how to connect bluetooth mouse to surface
,

how to connect mouse to surface

,

surface pro mouse not connecting

,

surface rt bluetooth mouse