Getting my new Surface Pro 3 today.

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 3' started by VickiFL, Sep 16, 2014.

  1. VickiFL

    VickiFL Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2014
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    101
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Florida
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Hi everyone. I am getting a Surface Pro 3 today. I am new to this forum, and have been lurking a bit. I thought I would go ahead and make an account in case I have questions, or I can help someone else eventually. This is my first hybrid. I am used to laptops, and I've never used Win 8.1 either. Back in the day, I started on Win 3.1, so I should be able to figure this out. :) I also just bought a Lumia Windows phone, and am hoping I can pair the two devices. I'll be going to the Microsoft store this weekend.

    I bought the i3 because I won't be using it for gaming. Just home school stuff, web browsing, email, pictures, etc. Nothing very demanding. I also bought a 64GB Micro SD card, the purple type cover, and an additional sleeve. I don't think I will need anything else for a while. I saw the dock, but not really sure it's a necessary item for me. Why do people really need them?

    Thank you! :)
     
  2. leeshor

    leeshor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    5,071
    Likes Received:
    877
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Norcross, GA
    My Device:
    SPro4
    Welcome to the forum and congratulations.
     
    VickiFL likes this.
  3. bluegrass

    bluegrass Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2013
    Messages:
    1,301
    Likes Received:
    193
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    St. Louis, Mo
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Ditto! You'll love it if you can be patient with some of the quirks you're bound to run into.
     
    VickiFL likes this.
  4. VickiFL

    VickiFL Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2014
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    101
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Florida
    My Device:
    SPro3
    What kinds of quirks?
     
  5. Liam2349

    Liam2349 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2014
    Messages:
    884
    Likes Received:
    132
    Trophy Points:
    43
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Some people have run into issues. Some devices have yellow lines at the edge of the screen, which is not a Surface specific issue.

    Personally my device has been flawless, aside from IE sometimes using 25% of my CPU and the fan coming on... always 25%, so it's a random bug, but it hasn't happened since I last updated so I'm hoping it's gone!
     
  6. unruledboy

    unruledboy Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2014
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Sydney
    My Device:
    SPro3
    just enjoy the toy, update all firmwares, adjust brightness to 40%
     
    VickiFL likes this.
  7. Telstar1948

    Telstar1948 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2013
    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    78
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Columbia, Missouri
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    The dock is more useful if you want a desktop setup with a number of peripherals attached to it. Mine is set up this way and it works really good for an office arrangement. If you have multiple monitors, printers, scanners, other USB devices etc. then the dock will be really handy. It charges your SP3 too.
     
    VickiFL likes this.
  8. raqball

    raqball Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2014
    Messages:
    427
    Likes Received:
    156
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    California
    My Device:
    SPro4
    My brightness is 100%
     
  9. Sassi

    Sassi Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2014
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    8
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Ouch it hurts my eyes to have it that bright... mine is usually 25 to 40 percent depending on what I'm doing.
     
  10. kundas1

    kundas1 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2013
    Messages:
    1,653
    Likes Received:
    299
    Trophy Points:
    83
    My Device:
    SPro3
    yea OUTSIDE!! lol :p
     
  11. Chuck_IV

    Chuck_IV Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2014
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    8
    I had an i3 but after a few days (and realizing Staples had a $100 off coupon I could use) I went up to the i5 128gb version.

    The one issue I had with the i3 was that a few apps from the Windows store didn't work on the i3. However when I switched to the i5, they ran fine. The couple that come to mind are Minion Rush and the ESPN app. What's interesting is they also don't run on my daughter's i3 based laptop either.

    So my guess is some poorly written apps, but just giving a heads up to my issue with the i3.
     
  12. VickiFL

    VickiFL Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2014
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    101
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Florida
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I hate hearing that because I just bought an i3. I don't do a whole lot of things that require a lot of power, plus I like that I can just go to Windows to download programs.
     

Share This Page