Incremential backup on a NAS possible?

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface General Discussion' started by appconsultant, Nov 3, 2013.

  1. appconsultant

    appconsultant New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Munich
    Like Time Machine on OSX, is there a solution available to automatically create an incremential backup on a NAS in my network?
     
  2. leeshor

    leeshor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    5,071
    Likes Received:
    877
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Norcross, GA
    My Device:
    SPro4
    You should be able to access the NAS, so incremental backups wouldn't/shouldn't be a problem
     
  3. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,095
    Likes Received:
    1,724
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    It is done through File History, point the target to your NAS.
     
  4. appconsultant

    appconsultant New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Munich
    This sounds great! Can i use this for a complete restore of my Surface ?
     
  5. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,095
    Likes Received:
    1,724
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    That is what the refresh is for, this is for your data....
     
  6. kayzee

    kayzee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2013
    Messages:
    2,082
    Likes Received:
    228
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Essex, UK
    My Device:
    SPro
    Has anyone got a step-by-step guide for this? It's something I'd really like to get set up but I've never used a NAS drive before...
     
  7. leeshor

    leeshor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    5,071
    Likes Received:
    877
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Norcross, GA
    My Device:
    SPro4
    Just an fyi that a NAS is not a requirement. You could do the same with any computer that has a shared folder and sufficient space available.
     

Share This Page