Locked in Lock Screen

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface General Discussion' started by ArnoldC, Feb 6, 2013.

  1. ArnoldC

    ArnoldC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Messages:
    1,537
    Likes Received:
    110
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Makati, Philippines
    This is the first time I am having this issue.

    I have my Surface RT connected to my home theater and enjoying Evanescence, when my girlfriend rang me. Before i answered the call, I paused the video player. We talked for around six minutes and the device shut the screen off, which is normal.

    After the call, I woke it up and I'm greeted with the Lock Screen and it won't let me past. Swiping up has no effect. I removed the HDMI cable, and the display is back to the Surface.

    And here's my mistake, I pressed CTRL alt del, and selected lock instead of logging out. Now, I'm stuck even worse. It won't respond to CTRL alt del anymore, but the mouse pointer still moves.

    Well, I can reboot, but I was hoping I can get out of this trap in q nicer way.

    Sent from my Windows Phone 8S by HTC using Board Express
     
    Last edited: Feb 6, 2013
  2. leeshor

    leeshor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    5,071
    Likes Received:
    877
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Norcross, GA
    My Device:
    SPro4
    I don't think you have any choice but to reboot. If you waited for a while and nothing happened it's obviously a hardware/software lockup.
     
  3. ArnoldC

    ArnoldC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Messages:
    1,537
    Likes Received:
    110
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Makati, Philippines
    The issue is repeatable and consistent. I purposely did it again. This time, from the lock screen, I pressed CTRL alt del, then I logged off. The TV screen is now blank.

    I disconnected the HDMI cable and the Surface screen is still blank.

    The mouse pointer is gone. Pressing CTRL alt del again does nothing.

    I will try this with my Acer S3 and see what happens.
    Sent from my Windows Phone 8S by HTC using Board Express
     
  4. ArnoldC

    ArnoldC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Messages:
    1,537
    Likes Received:
    110
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Makati, Philippines
    Wait, something is wrong here...

    I removed the USB DAC, and the screen is back. It did logout.

    Connecting the HDMI cable again, the screen switched to the TV but none of the Modern apps want to run complaining about resolution, which is set correctly. In addition, I can't play any movies as it tells me the format is not supported.

    This... Is... Weird!
    Sent from my Windows Phone 8S by HTC using Board Express
     
  5. ArnoldC

    ArnoldC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Messages:
    1,537
    Likes Received:
    110
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Makati, Philippines
    Ok, I did a restart via CTRL alt del and it won't restart, the screen dimmed already.

    Ps.

    As I type this reply, it goes to the new blue screen, that I first experienced with my Acer S3 running the consumer preview of Windows 8.
    Sent from my Windows Phone 8S by HTC using Board Express
     
  6. ArnoldC

    ArnoldC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Messages:
    1,537
    Likes Received:
    110
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Makati, Philippines
    I simulated the problem again, this time removing the USB DAC out of the mix. The problem did not manifest. Therefore, it is that combination that confuses the Surface RT when the screen times out.
    Sent from my Windows Phone 8S by HTC using Board Express
     
  7. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,095
    Likes Received:
    1,724
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    I have this issue with my Plantronics Voyager Pro 2 UC Headset, if I leave the dongle in and the RT goes into Connected Standby, I can't get back in until I reboot.
     
  8. J515OP

    J515OP Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    2,177
    Likes Received:
    262
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Northern CA
    My Device:
    RT
    Time for error submissions to MS ;) Thanks for identifying bugs guys :)
     
    1 person likes this.
  9. ArnoldC

    ArnoldC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Messages:
    1,537
    Likes Received:
    110
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Makati, Philippines
    Mine is gonna be a looong explanation. I hope they "get" it.
     
  10. J515OP

    J515OP Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    2,177
    Likes Received:
    262
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Northern CA
    My Device:
    RT
    Make them a video :D
     
  11. ArnoldC

    ArnoldC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Messages:
    1,537
    Likes Received:
    110
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Makati, Philippines
    I don't even know where to submit it :)

    I have to test this bug with my Panasonic LCD. I don't use it much because it looks like crap compared to the Samsung. The Samsung has quirks too, the Surface RT work on HDMI input 2, but my Acer won't. The Acer likes to be connected to the HDMI input 1.

    Look Ma, lotsa tiles!

    [​IMG]
     
    1 person likes this.
  12. bosamar

    bosamar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012
    Messages:
    1,453
    Likes Received:
    78
    Trophy Points:
    48
    My Device:
    RT
    I've never connected my RT to my TV. Gotta try it soon.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
microsoft surface is stuck on please wait
,

surface 2 stuck on lock screen

,
surface 2 stuck on locked screen
,
surface is stuck with surface on screen
,
surface pro 2 stuck on lock screen
,
surface rt stuck at please wait screen
,
surface rt stuck on please wait
,
surface rt stuck on please wait screen
,

surface stuck on lock screen

,

surface stuck on surface screen