Memory hog.

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 3' started by Sassi, Sep 17, 2014.

  1. Sassi

    Sassi Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2014
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    8
    My Device:
    SPro3
    So, looking at task manager today, I noticed that a lot of memory was being used and it was down to mainly one process called runtime broker.

    runtime.jpg

    Does anyone know why this process is using so much memory? Is this normal?
    Many thanks, sorry I'm a bit of a windows newbie as I've used apple products for years.
     
  2. DeltaXray

    DeltaXray Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2014
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Runtime Broker is a management agent for Modern apps, and as far as I can tell does things like checks that apps have requested the correct permissions and the user is informed each time the app wants to do something with them (for example, use your webcams).

    It is quite well known for it to have memory leaks which appears to be down to buggy third party metro apps with Live Tiles.

    If any have Live Tiles try turning them off one by one to see which one is affecting your machine.
     
  3. ctitanic

    ctitanic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,194
    Likes Received:
    577
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hollywood, FL
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Stop looking for issues and start enjoying your SP3!;)
     
  4. bluegrass

    bluegrass Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2013
    Messages:
    1,301
    Likes Received:
    193
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    St. Louis, Mo
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I would create an Excel spreadsheet with two columns. One column for the name of the process and one column for the amount of memory the process is using. Enter all the process names and the amount of memory each uses into this spreadsheet. Now sort by the amount of memory being used. See where the Runtime Broker is on the spreadsheet and compare it to the rest of the processes. Let us know how it comes out. BTW my Runtime Broker was using 4.4 mb as compared to another process named XtuService (32 bit) that was using 24.9 mb.

    Also Sassi, just between you and me, right after booting, I checked my memory usage and it was running at 23% and the CPU usage was hovering around 21% but I think it will die down some after it settles down in its rocking chair and relaxes.
     
  5. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,101
    Likes Received:
    1,724
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    Remember that any time you suspend a MUI App it stays in memory for a few minutes until resources need to be freed for other processes, if it stays like that for a long time (more than 30 minutes) then I would say something is wrong...
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
flash resource hog surface pro 3
,

runtime broker high cpu

,
runtime broker high cpu surface pro 3
,
runtime broker high cpu usage
,
surface 3 pro run-time broker consumes memory
,
surface pro 3 runtime broker
,
surface pro 4 runtime broker
,
surface3 runtime broker
,
turn off runtime broker
,
turning runtime broker off