mobile broadband and SurfacePro3

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 3' started by veracee, Mar 16, 2015.

  1. veracee

    veracee New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2015
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    In have SurfacePro3 and use it by connecting wirelessly to our home broadband router.
    When i go on holidays and want to use it, am i able to connect to a mobile broadband by the USB port with a dongle?
    I have an ipad which has mobile broadband.....will i be able to tether to that?
    Vera
     
  2. nipponham

    nipponham Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2014
    Messages:
    399
    Likes Received:
    78
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Japan
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Are you trying to use your iPad as a personal hotspot, or are you wanting to use a USB dongle to connect to 3G/4G network? I suppose you could do both as long as your carrier/plan allows it.
     
  3. veracee

    veracee New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2015
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Thank you for your reply.
    I would prefer to use a USB dongle to connect to 3G/4G network. If i am unable to connect with a dongle on SurfacePro3, then can i use my ipad as a hotspot?
    My question is.....does Surface Pro3 allow me to use a dongle to connect?
     
  4. nipponham

    nipponham Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2014
    Messages:
    399
    Likes Received:
    78
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Japan
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Although I haven't used a mobile broadband dongle and can't give you any firsthand anecdotes, my question to you would be what limitations do you think SP3 has that would restrict usage of a dongle? It has a standard USB 3.0 port and features a classic x86 architecture. If the dongle works with a generic laptop, there's no reason why it wouldn't work with SP3.

    If for some reason the dongle doesn't work, you can use your cellular-enabled iPad to act as a personal hotspot and tether your SP3 to that, as long as your carrier allows tethering. (Some don't). If you're going overseas or somewhere where your carrier doesn't have coverage, then no.
     
  5. veracee

    veracee New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2015
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    No I am not going overseas.
    I was led to believe that only the SurfacePro2 was able to get 3G/4G network,
    and that the SurfacePro3 could only receive wireless internet.
    This is the reason i am here and asking, because i want to know if SurfacePro3 is able to use 3G/4G network by using a dongle in the USB port.
     
  6. agt499

    agt499 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2014
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Hi. As nipponham notes, as a rule anything designed to work with a laptop should work fine with the SP3.
    The only place I've seen issues is if a device has a very large power draw (like my USB monitor).
    Would be 95% sure that you'll be fine - and if you're getting a dongle in-store you should be able to try one.
     
  7. veracee

    veracee New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2015
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Thank you both very much for your replies.
    I will find out when i go into the Telstra store.
     
  8. nipponham

    nipponham Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2014
    Messages:
    399
    Likes Received:
    78
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Japan
    My Device:
    SPro3
    May I ask what lead you to believe that? If you have a cite or source, I'll check it out. There is no reason why a dongle would work on SP2 and not SP3.

    However, agt499 mentions a good point. If the dongle draws a large current, the USB port on SP3 may not be able to handle it. In this case, you may need to get a powered USB hub. This is a power supply issue and not a technical one.
     
  9. GreyFox7

    GreyFox7 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6,331
    Likes Received:
    1,279
    Trophy Points:
    113
    I use a mobile hotspot and connect my devices to it over wifi as needed, one mobile bill, any device.
     
  10. veracee

    veracee New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2015
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
  11. nipponham

    nipponham Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2014
    Messages:
    399
    Likes Received:
    78
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Japan
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Hmm, I just checked out the link but could not find what you are referring to. It looks like a troubleshooting page for Surface 2 but nowhere does it mention that mobile broadband connection is limited to that device.

    Are you talking about the native micro-SIM slot some new Surface 2s have? All that means is that you can insert the SIM directly into the device without having to use a dongle. It doesn't preclude the SP line from using a dongle to connect to mobile broadband.
     
  12. veracee

    veracee New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2015
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Before i bought my Pro3 i checked out all of them. I am sure it said that Surface 2's had mobile broadband access, and pro3's did not.
    Maybe that is what they meant, that the 2's had a sim slot and the 3's did not.
    It did not say that the pro3 would be able to use mobile broadband by using a dongle in the USB port.
    I thought someone could tell me if i can use a dongle for sure.
    I realise it does not preclude the SP line from using a dongle to connect, but it does not say that it CAN use one.
    Many thanks for replying to me.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
broadband in surface
,
connect surface pro 4 to mobile broadband dongle
,
does surface pro 4 have builtin mobile broadband
,
mobile broadband connection surface pro
,

mobile broadband surface pro 3

,
pro 4 i7 mobile broadband
,
surface pro 3 with broadband
,
surface pro 4 and broadband
,
surface pro 4 mobile broadband
,
surface pro 4 mobile broadband issue