Solved My SP3 still hasn't got the windows 10 upgrade app

Discussion in 'Windows 10 on Surface Pro 3' started by uktivo, Aug 18, 2015.

  1. uktivo

    uktivo Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2014
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Hi. My SP3 hasn't got the upgrade app. I've tried three methods that are being touted around the Internet with an attempt to fix this issue. After trying all three. Non have worked.
    My wife's new SP3 i3 has now been upgraded, so I have to assume it's a setting on my surface.

    Can anyone point me to a guide on how to do get a manual upgrade please?

    Thanks
     
  2. leeshor

    leeshor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    5,071
    Likes Received:
    877
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Norcross, GA
    My Device:
    SPro4
    uktivo likes this.
  3. uktivo

    uktivo Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2014
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Will this overwrite my system and does it contains all drivers etc?
    I'd like to preform a non destructive upgrade if at all possible like my wife's sp3 did.
     
  4. uktivo

    uktivo Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2014
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    8
    If anyone could advise why the upgrade app will just not show in the task bar that could help me also. I've updated everything I can. My surface is part of a domain but there is no restrictions on upgrades. I'm the administration on the domain . I've tried downloading the app without AVG antiviral and firewalls switched on.. Nothing makes a difference. Any ideas please.
     
  5. leeshor

    leeshor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    5,071
    Likes Received:
    877
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Norcross, GA
    My Device:
    SPro4
    Assuming there are truly no restrictions on the system despite having joined a domain that site give you to option of leaving all of your docs/settings/and apps intact, non destructive.

    With that said are you saying that you have tried that and failed? I would make sure I had a recovery image and backup of your existing 8.1 using something like Macrium Reflect just in case there is some reason it didn't give you the option before now.
     
  6. uktivo

    uktivo Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2014
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Thanks again.
    Re the domain question. I've also detached away from the domain and tried to get the upgrade app. Still no joy.

    Re the manual install. I've read it needs a licence key. My SP3 is activated but reading on the Internet. There seems some confusion if this manual install actually activates using your 8.1 licence key. I've read you need to upgrade to win 10, activate it and then you can preform a clean install using this manual method and MS picks up your activated Win 10 licence.
    Hope that makes sense?
     
  7. leeshor

    leeshor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    5,071
    Likes Received:
    877
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Norcross, GA
    My Device:
    SPro4
    That's correct. Upgrade - activate - then do whatever, whenever on a clean install. The upgrade only needs to authenticate your licensed version of Windows 8.1. You don't need a key from then on.
     
  8. uktivo

    uktivo Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2014
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Sorry to be a pain but I don't want to get 90% way through only to find I missed something.
    As sp3 came pre loaded with 8.1 I don't have a dedicated key. Is this stored on the hard drive itself under a locked partition that the upgrade accesses? Ie. I physically don't have to enter anything.
     
  9. GreyFox7

    GreyFox7 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6,335
    Likes Received:
    1,279
    Trophy Points:
    113
    It's stored in Microsoft's database along with a unique identifier built from your Surface/Computer hardware. If you reinstall, the machine identifier is used to retrieve the key and activate the new installation. You can reinstall as many times as you want. On your Surface changing hardware is not an option but on other computers things like changing the disk drive or other routine hardware upgrades etc. will not invalidate the unique ID.

    During the Upgrade process setup retrieves the 8.1 key from *wherever* (Non-volatile memory inside not the disk) it's permanently stored on the Surface validates the key and assigns a Windows 10 Key to your computer's unique ID, then locks it away in a mayonnaise jar on Funk and Wagnall's porch err ah, Microsoft's secret database.
     
    Last edited: Aug 19, 2015
    uktivo likes this.
  10. rikracer

    rikracer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2015
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Weatherford Texas
    My Device:
    SPro3
    then locks it away in a mayonnaise jar on Funk and Wagnall's porch err ah, Microsoft's secret database.
    :D +1
    wonder who will get the Carson reference?
     
    GreyFox7 likes this.
  11. uktivo

    uktivo Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2014
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Just wanted to say thank you for the support on this thread. All updated and all working well. Thanks.
     
    GreyFox7 likes this.
  12. leeshor

    leeshor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    5,071
    Likes Received:
    877
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Norcross, GA
    My Device:
    SPro4
    It's always great when a plan comes together. ;)
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

why hasnt ie upgraded despite option switched on

,

why hasnt my surface upgraded to windows 10