need tips on sp3 heat and fan?

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 3' started by ogbcuz13, Jun 11, 2015.

  1. ogbcuz13

    ogbcuz13 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    east los angels,ca
    My Device:
    SPro3
    i need help and tips on what can i do to fix the issue with the heat and loud fan blowing i only have 3 months and haven't used it extremely but when i do i run emulators to play that's when everything happens and its a powerful devise but i know there has to be a fix for this but i haven't find one i dont want to get a usb fan so any tips on why this is happening and how to east fix by the way i have a sp3 i5 4gb ram 128 gb i also have the latest intel graphics and high performance option.
     
  2. cliffr39

    cliffr39 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2015
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    28
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Is this only when using those emulators? That may be the issue.
     
  3. hughlle

    hughlle Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2014
    Messages:
    2,701
    Likes Received:
    422
    Trophy Points:
    83
    I'm not surprised the fan can kick up when using emulators. They can be very demanding. My pro 3 may be a powerful device, but it cant even emulate a 13 year old PS2 game.
     
  4. Telstar1948

    Telstar1948 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2013
    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    78
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Columbia, Missouri
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    I noticed on another thread that some were saying their Defender was the cause of their fan running more. They said they switched to another virus application & the fan running dropped off precipitously along with the heating. Don't know if this will do the trick or not, but some said, "Yes!"

    I do know for certain that after the May firmware update my SP3 started immediately running warmer and the fan began running more. I hadn't changed my use of the SP3 so I'm certain that particular firmware update caused it.
     
  5. VickiFL

    VickiFL Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2014
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    101
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Florida
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Let your SP3 sleep when you aren't using it. It will cool down while you are away.
     
  6. Johnny365

    Johnny365 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2015
    Messages:
    295
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Yeah, when I am away or at work, I push the power button so it goes into connected display.
     

Share This Page