Network Docking for Surface Pro

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro' started by DSAC, Dec 18, 2012.

  1. DSAC

    DSAC New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Microsoft has stated that Surface RT does not have support for USB-Ethernet docking. This, however, is very important for Surface Pro in enterprise, for it to be a desktop replacement option.

    Does anyone have authoritative information regarding docking options for the Pro and whether there are certified USB docking stations (that Surface Pro will have drivers for) that provide video and ethernet connectivity in addition to USB ports for mouse and keyboard?

    Thanks.
     
  2. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,096
    Likes Received:
    1,724
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    Since it runs Windows 8 Pro and has a USB 3.0 port it should work with any of the current USB 2.0 or 3.0 Docking Solutions, and DisplayLink has Windows 8 drivers for their USB Video Cards and it is used in all of the solutions the Surface Pro will be supported.
     
  3. Golou

    Golou New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Elizabethtown, KY
    having docking capabilities for the Pro will be very nice. I can see replacing some of my Wyse terms then.
     
  4. DSAC

    DSAC New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thank you for all of your advice. We did succeed in connecting Samsung SmartPC Pro to a DynaDock by ignoring Toshiba's driver update/install instructions and just allowing PNP to handle the connection. So we are reassured that USB-Ethernet docking will be available for the Surface Pro as well. Best regards!
     
  5. surfacetablethelp

    surfacetablethelp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Great. I will sell my Surface rt and swith to the Pro model
     
  6. starLog

    starLog New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2013
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Golou how can you replace a Wyse with a Pro. We use our Wyse with dual LCD monitors, and they connect to a vmware terminal server. That option is much cheaper then a Pro.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
docking station for surface pro
,
surface pro dock
,
surface pro docking options
,

surface pro docking station

,
surface pro docking station options