What's new

New Surface users vs. old

megatronium

The i7 SP3 will be my first Surface PC. I've lurked these forums for the past month and I must say that the amount of negativity concerning SP3 is a bit alarming. I'm a multimedia artist (premiere, Photoshop, flash, etc.) and the SP3 looks to be what I've always dreamed of. I find myself counting down the days till release. Anyway, it seems to me that the negativity surrounding SP3 is coming mostly from former Surface users (sp2, 1). Is that a fair assessment? As a new Surface user should I be concerned? I'm replacing a Samsung rf510 with a 1st gen i7 and a CyanogenMod HP Touchpad. I'm excited about the upgrade but this forum is bumming me out. Is this the most active Surface forum on the net? I also check out Surfaceproartist. Thanks!

mcsenerd

I think there's something to that, namely because I believe that many (prematurely) expected the logical progression of the next gen surface pro to further extend the performance abilities of the prior generation, however this wasn't to be the case. Look, the SP3 is a fine laplet, ultratab, tabtop, or whatever hybrid word you'd like to describe it with, but in several ways it IS a step back from what the SP2 brought to the table. That in no way diminishes the superb machine that is the SP3, nor does it discount in any fashion the many other areas where the SP3 clearly outpaces the prior two devices. It is not in every case a clear upgrade over the SP2 though. I, like many, do believe that this form factor is screaming for silicon that's just not available yet.

OP
M

megatronium