Obligatory Introduction

Discussion in 'New Member Introduction & Site Assistance' started by gpstrucker, Dec 22, 2012.

1. gpstrucker

gpstrucker New Member

My Device:
    RT
    Hello one and all.

Ok, I'm a long haul truck driver in the U.S. and also something of a tech geek. The other drivers where I work call me "the gadget guy" LOL

I just picked up a Surface yesterday as a Christmas present to myself. I had broken my Asus Transformer tablet a couple of months ago (alcohol was involved) and was getting a little tired of only using my iPad and Nexus 7 tablets. I did a lot of research on the various tablets available out there and to be honest the Surface wasn't even in the running when I stopped by Best Buy.

But, being thorough, I wanted to see all of the available tablets before making a purchasing decision. When I checked out the Surface, fully expecting to pass on it, I found that I really liked it. I've been running Windows 8 on one of my laptops for a while now, and found the Surface to be far more like a "real computer" than an over-sized phone that doesn't make phone calls.

OK, all of that said, I look forward to seeing how the Surface ecosystem evolves. I am already thinking about buying a Pro model when they are released.

2. mrasmussen

mrasmussen New Member

welcome aboard. The surface is a wonderful tablet. I've used all of the tablets you listed and I enjoy the Surface the most. I also broke an asus transformer, kid sat on it, not very impressed with the build quality there. The surface is a different story.

3. gpstrucker

gpstrucker New Member

My Device:
    RT
    I really can't fault the build quality of the Asus tablet. It held up quite well for me until I dropped it on a concrete floor. I think most devices would have suffered serious damage under those circumstances. I do agree the Surface is a great device, I am really enjoying it.

4. bosamar

bosamar Well-Known Member

My Device:
    RT