Pro 2 Does Not Recognize Type Cover 2

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 2' started by pmillen, May 31, 2014.

  1. pmillen

    pmillen New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2014
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    My Device:
    SPro2
    My Surface Pro 2 has stopped recognizing its Type Cover 2. Any suggestions for getting it working again?
     
  2. GoodBytes

    GoodBytes Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2014
    Messages:
    1,071
    Likes Received:
    170
    Trophy Points:
    63
    1- Restart the system. Does it work? No, continue:

    2-Shut it down, detach the keyboard cover, and make sure the contact on the Surface Pro and keyboard are clean. Use rubbing alcohol to clean the contacts

    3- Once cleaned, Attach back the keyboard, and press and hold the Vol Up button, then the Power button, (hold both). The system will turn on, continue to hold both buttons. The system will turn off, continue to hold. The system will turn on. Now you can let go both buttons.
    Does it detect the keyboard now?
     
  3. pmillen

    pmillen New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2014
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    My Device:
    SPro2
    I skipped the cleaning part. I didn't see how that could be the culprit since it worked when I shut it off.

    Step 3 worked. Thanks for taking the time to address this.
     
  4. pmillen

    pmillen New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2014
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    My Device:
    SPro2
    Same story—keyboard not recognized the next time I started it. I cleaned the contacts and performed step 3 (vol and power buttons) several times but no joy. It flashed "Surface" the second time but never started.

    A menu flashed occasionally, but too briefly to read.

    I once got to a point where I answered a series of questions about the available steps to take because my Surface hadn't shut down properly. Hadn't shut down properly? Hmmmm. I used Sart8, a Windows 7 Start button add-in from Stardock, to shut down. Maybe it doesn't do it properly.

    Anyway, as I worked my way through the questions I came to a point where I needed to choose between two undesirable options. I think they were (1) remove all files or (2) remove all files and apps. I really didn't want to do either so I shut down via the power button because I didn't have a way to back out of this dilemma to previous screens. Now, I'm feeling that I should have wiped everything.

    During my last attempt I caught the menu and I'm staring at it with no idea of what any of these choices mean (well I know what Exit means).
    --------------------------------------------------------------------
    Trusted Platform Module (TPM) [Enabled]

    Secure Boot Control [Enabled]

    Install Default Secure Boot Keys

    Delete All Secure Boot Keys

    Exit Setup
    --------------------------------------------------------------------
    Do you have more suggestions?

    This thing is only about two months old. I've been unhappy with Windows for years. Now I'm growing unhappy with Microsoft's hardware. I'm trying to stay loyal to Windows, in my home I have a desktop, two notebooks, a Windows phone and most recently this Surface Pro 2. But I'm again thinking of listing everything on Craig's List, biting the cost bullet and converting to Apple products.
     
  5. yeewiz

    yeewiz Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2012
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Las Vegas, USA
    My Device:
    SPro2
    You've pointed it out yourself. Maybe you shouldn't use that "Sart8" program (designed for Win7) and let Windows 8 operate normally and report back? Have you hacked other "special" programs into the SP2?
     
  6. pmillen

    pmillen New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2014
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    My Device:
    SPro2
    Thanks for the prompt reply, vitriolic as it may be.

    Well, maybe I listed the wrong app name 'cause I can't look at it (the %$* Surface won't start). But I can't agree with your statement that the app I'm using was designed for Win 7. It's intended to add the Start button to Win 8. So I think "hacked" is rather harsh.

    Even conceding that the Start button add-in may not shut it down properly it should be easier to rectify than this.

    Do you have a another suggestion?
     
  7. GoodBytes

    GoodBytes Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2014
    Messages:
    1,071
    Likes Received:
    170
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Windows 8 already has a start button and shutdown button. No settings to change.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    If your system doesn't want to start, then you have broken Windows (probably with Windows hacking tools) and requires re-installation.

    It helps to give something a chance, instead of trying to ignore it.
     
    Last edited: Jun 1, 2014
  8. drolem

    drolem Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2013
    Messages:
    293
    Likes Received:
    36
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    98052
    The above is the"BIOS" menu for the SP2.

    There are several ways to get in there, one is a convoluted restart from Win8, another is if you have some kind of issue with the SSD or some of the related circuitry that prevents boot, you can also get it if the Win8 install is corrupted, and lastly, I think you can press some magic keys during or before boot to get to that menu.

    Exit should work and should start your unit normally. If it does not, you either have a hardware error, intermittent or otherwise, or a corrupted Win8 install. You may want look in the event log to see if you have disk errors in there, if so, download smartmontools and check the SMART stats of the SSD.
     
  9. pmillen

    pmillen New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2014
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    My Device:
    SPro2
    Thanks for the helpful reply. It's a pleasure to hear from someone who actually knows what they're talking about.

    Exit worked and my Surface started normally, as you predicted. I'm hopeful that this is the end of the problem. If it reoccurs I'll download smartmontools and check further.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
microsoft surface pro 2 will not recognize type cover 2
,
surface 2 not recognizing keyboard
,
surface 2 not recognizing type cover 2
,

surface not recognizing keyboard

,
surface power cover not recognized
,
surface pro 2 does not recognize keyboard
,
surface pro 2 does not recognize type cover
,
surface pro 2 doesnt recognize power cover
,
surface pro 2 keyboard not reconise
,
surface pro 2 not recognizing keyboard