Problem with black levels.

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 4' started by rrodriguez0001, Oct 12, 2015.

  1. rrodriguez0001

    rrodriguez0001 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My Device:
    SPro3
    There's a problem with the black levels for the SP3 that I've never been able to resolve even after installing the graphic drivers from Intel. The details in a black or dark image or movie are virtually gone because there is no distinction in the black levels. This is a common problem for a lot of folks and have been mention in YouTube and can be found by doing a Bing search.

    I'm wondering if this issue will be the resolved with the SP4, or is it because the type of display technology MS is using that will make this a continuing inherent problem for both the Pro and the Book. Thanks
     
  2. leeshor

    leeshor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    5,071
    Likes Received:
    877
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Norcross, GA
    My Device:
    SPro4
    Welcome to the forum

    I don't remember anyone here mentioning that as an issue. As for the SP4 it probably isn't something you will get much input on until someone, (maybe here), actually has one.
     
  3. rrodriguez0001

    rrodriguez0001 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Thank you for the welcome and the input.

    I do hope this has been resolved. I've got mine preordered and fingers crossed.
     
  4. manoroid

    manoroid Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2014
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hello. I have resolved this issue finally. Download the driver from the Microsoft Website. It's titled Surfacepro3,windows10_150915_0.msi. This should fix thr horrible black levels.. I've had many issues with this since the Pro 2.
     
  5. wynand32

    wynand32 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2014
    Messages:
    841
    Likes Received:
    174
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Oak Park, CA
    My Device:
    SPro3
    The SP4 seems like it has a seriously superior screen. I checked one out at a Microsoft Store that was sitting next to an SP3. Colors, contrast, color temp were all much, much better. I have no doubt that black levels have also been improved. Microsoft put an excellent screen in the Surface 3 (rated one of the best on the market by DisplayMate), and it seems like they put a screen with similar qualities in the SP4.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

surface black levels problem