Run fan manually

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 3' started by Deus, Jun 14, 2015.

  1. Deus

    Deus New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Is it possible to run fan manually or reduce temp values when fan should be started?
     
  2. hughlle

    hughlle Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2014
    Messages:
    2,700
    Likes Received:
    422
    Trophy Points:
    83
    No. If this is an important enough issue then your only real (disclaimer: potentially risky) option would be to look into undervolting the cpu. Whether we like it or not, the temp values for ran operation etc have been chosen for a reason.
     
  3. BOBEL

    BOBEL Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2015
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I wonder about that thank you hughlle
     
  4. GreyFox7

    GreyFox7 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6,338
    Likes Received:
    1,279
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Last edited: Aug 16, 2015
  5. Haldi

    Haldi Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2014
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    18
    My Device:
    SPro3
    We dont even know the actual RPM of the fan :(

    Oh... And undervolting is really easy to do, search for INTEL XTU. Permanent damage can only happen trough overvoltage. Undervoltage will Crash and might cause problems on the harddrive, but the CPU will always be safe.
     
  6. kayzee

    kayzee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2013
    Messages:
    2,082
    Likes Received:
    228
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Essex, UK
    My Device:
    SPro
    Out of interest, why were you thinking of doing this?
     
  7. Deus

    Deus New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I`m using dockstation when working and experience throttling sometimes, that`s why I was wondering if it possible to run fan permanently somehow.
     
  8. hughlle

    hughlle Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2014
    Messages:
    2,700
    Likes Received:
    422
    Trophy Points:
    83
    The only time you will experience throttling is when the machine is working hard enough that the fan is going to be running full speed anyway. The machine will not throttle unless the fan cannot continue to cool it. It's not throttling when the fan is only at 25% speed, it can just turn the fan up.
     
  9. GreyFox7

    GreyFox7 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6,338
    Likes Received:
    1,279
    Trophy Points:
    113
    In a docking station just position a small external fan to blow on it.
     
  10. kayzee

    kayzee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2013
    Messages:
    2,082
    Likes Received:
    228
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Essex, UK
    My Device:
    SPro
    Have you installed Windows 10 yet? After that... my Surface fans run constantly! :eek: that's one way of doing it.
     
  11. Deus

    Deus New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Yes, I`m running windows 10 right now and fan works the same as on previous OS version.
    But I made clean windows 10 install because had problems with drivers and VirtualBox.
    You may try to make factory reset.
     
  12. kayzee

    kayzee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2013
    Messages:
    2,082
    Likes Received:
    228
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Essex, UK
    My Device:
    SPro
    It's Edddge, Edge I tell ya.
     

Share This Page