Snipping tool & windows 8/desktop

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro' started by Dieselrob, Jun 2, 2013.

  1. Dieselrob

    Dieselrob New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I just picked up my pro, so this is my first time really using windows 8.

    I opened Internet Explorer from the windows 8 app main screen, swiped right and searched snipping tool. When I open snipping tool, it pulls up the tool on the normal windows desktop screen, this would normally be ok but the IE I run on the windows 8 app screen isn't the same when you open IE on the desktop?

    How do I open the snip tool on the app portion of windows 8 when using internet explorer?

    I hope this made some semblance of sense lol
     
  2. tonyz3

    tonyz3 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2013
    Messages:
    729
    Likes Received:
    118
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes snipping tool will only work on the DT. I wish it would work on metro.
     
  3. wilbur4321

    wilbur4321 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2012
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Do you have Office? OneNote's snipping tool can get Metro.

    --randy

    Sent from the SurfaceForums.net app for Windows 8
     
  4. tonyz3

    tonyz3 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2013
    Messages:
    729
    Likes Received:
    118
    Trophy Points:
    0
    wait are you sure? are you saying you can use office 2013 one note snipping tool on metro ie. If this can be done please explain how...

    Sent from Boards for Windows on Windows 8
     
  5. wilbur4321

    wilbur4321 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2012
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yup. Assuming it's started up already (which it does by default), just press Win-S while you're in the modern app. It will switch over to desktop, then back (really annoying), but it seems to work. Note: tried this on my Lenovo Carbon.

    thanks,
    --randy

    Sent from the SurfaceForums.net app for Windows 8
     
    1 person likes this.
  6. vinumsv

    vinumsv New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India
    here is sample screenshot using Win+S or OneNote ScreenCapture tool

    477213_10151670848199574_725987605_o.jpg
     

    Attached Files:

  7. tonyz3

    tonyz3 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2013
    Messages:
    729
    Likes Received:
    118
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ok now i got it to work...thx. For me it will only work - because of dual ext monitors-- if i have DT one note open on one screen and than metro ie on the other. any other combo it reverts to the DT. But it works Later i will try it when i dont have the SP hooked to anything just as tablet.....
     
  8. tonyz3

    tonyz3 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2013
    Messages:
    729
    Likes Received:
    118
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Does anyone know if you can use the snipping tool in metro app while in tablet mode without the Keyboard. Not a screen shot.....
     
  9. starLog

    starLog New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2013
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    get Greenshot from sourceforge.net

    works on any system
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
sniip for win8
,
snipit tool surface pro
,
snipping tool on microsoft surface
,
snipping tool on surface pro
,

snipping tool surface pro

,
snipping tool surface pro 3
,

snipping tool windows 8 surface

,
surface pro pin snipping tool
,

surface pro snipping tool

,
surface snipping tool