Spelling in IE

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 3' started by JackieInCo, Jan 5, 2015.

  1. JackieInCo

    JackieInCo Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2014
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    8
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I have noticed that on several sites that I go to including a few that I run myself, spelling mistakes aren't underlined or corrected even though I have these settings turned on. This happens in both desktop IE and modern. It's also the same with either the type cover or onscreen keyboards.

    Anyone know of a way to turn on spelling suggestions or auto correct for all sites no matter what form that I am typing into?
     
  2. DutchYee

    DutchYee Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2014
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Netherlands
    My Device:
    SPro3
    You have to edit these settings at your keyboard settings.
     
  3. JackieInCo

    JackieInCo Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2014
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    8
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Ok, can you explain how I do this? When I go to settings, keyboard, I don't see anything.
     
  4. GreyFox7

    GreyFox7 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6,331
    Likes Received:
    1,279
    Trophy Points:
    113
    This sounds like something the sites are doing to cause the problem.

    The HR dept at work sends out locked word forms with spellcheck disabled. I guess they are hoping to grade people on spelling mistakes in their reviews. I just type everything in another doc then paste it in :) This company is so juvenile, they probably take points off for that too. ​
     
  5. JackieInCo

    JackieInCo Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2014
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    8
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I've noticed this annoying thing while trying the same sites on my Mac using Safari. Guess there is nothing I can really do.
     
  6. nipponham

    nipponham Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2014
    Messages:
    399
    Likes Received:
    78
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Japan
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Do you by chance use another keyboard, other than English? Spell check works for my US English keyboard but not for the Japanese one.
     
  7. JackieInCo

    JackieInCo Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2014
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    8
    My Device:
    SPro3
    No, just the installed one for the United States. The spell check also does not work while using the keyboard while attached. This is just on some sites, not all.

    I think it has to do with the editor that these sites use. I never have the problem on vBulletin or Xenforo sites.
     
  8. bluegrass

    bluegrass Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2013
    Messages:
    1,300
    Likes Received:
    193
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    St. Louis, Mo
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I always thought spell check is built into some apps like Microsoft Office. I didn't know it was suppose to spell check typing that I do in all apps or something someone else misspelled in an email or on a website.
     
  9. GreyFox7

    GreyFox7 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6,331
    Likes Received:
    1,279
    Trophy Points:
    113
    My speeling on this sight wood be atrochus beetween tipos, autocorrupt, and metal confuseshion. :D Thankfully it works most of the time.
     
  10. JackieInCo

    JackieInCo Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2014
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    8
    My Device:
    SPro3

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

download spell check for surface pro

,

spell check on surface pro is not working