Surface 3 Doesn't Support Intel WiDi

Discussion in 'Surface 3 (Atom)' started by netuser, May 17, 2015.

  1. netuser

    netuser Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2013
    Messages:
    319
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Like the i3 version of the SP3, the S3 doesn't support Intel WiDi because that requires a vPro CPU and other specific hardware requirements They instead only support the consumer oriented Miracast wireless display.
    Miracast is easier to set up and is good enough for most people. Nobody will care if someone in the lobby or parking lot hacks into your Youtube or Netflix video wirelessly streaming over Miracast. However, are you giving up security in a business environment if you do confidential presentations on your Surface 3 over Miracast?
    Does Miracast have any similar encryption as Intel WiDi?
     
    Last edited: May 17, 2015
  2. hughlle

    hughlle Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2014
    Messages:
    2,691
    Likes Received:
    422
    Trophy Points:
    83
    I know this will be seen as maybe a controversial opinion, but if you are doing confidential business presentations then you should be doing them with a machine that supports the protocols you need. E.g you buy the machine for the purpose. While it may be used for a professional purpose, the S3 is designed as the budget model, with the pro 3 being for professionals. You wouldn't buy a machine that doesn't support for example, bitlocker, if you knew that your work was important enough that bitlocker was a requirement (i don't know if bitlocker is simply software or hardware specific, but you get the point)
     
  3. netuser

    netuser Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2013
    Messages:
    319
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Surface 3 supports Bitlocker and everything else we need.
    Also, I don't know for sure that Miracast doesn't have acceptable encryption I'm asking a question about it. I only know that the Surface 3 doesn't support Intel WiDi that's more business enterprise oriented.
     
  4. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,095
    Likes Received:
    1,724
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    WiDi doesn't require a vPro chipset just the full Intel Wireless and video stack. Miracast is encrypted as It supports HCDP. WiDi 4.0 and later is 100% Miracast compatible and without using the Intel WiDi client all Windows 8.x and latest devices will use Miracast as It doesn't have WiDi support at the OS level.
     
  5. netuser

    netuser Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2013
    Messages:
    319
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ok, it may have only have been a coincidence that only our older laptops with vPro supported WiDi. I know for sure that Intel "Pro WiDi" features requires vPro and may require at least 4th generation Intel chips.
    There seems to be no Windows 7 support for Miracast, so we have to use Intel WiDi for wireless displays for everything not running Windows 8.1.
    We can use a Screenbeam Pro that supports both types of wireless displays. We won't be able to get Microsoft Display Adapters until we retire Windows 7 laptops.

    So, even the vPro versions of the Surface Pro 3 wouldn't support Intel WiDi since the Surface Pro line uses Marvell wireless.
    Intel marketing materials seem to imply that Intel WiDi is secure and other wireless display methods are not.
     
  6. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,095
    Likes Received:
    1,724
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    Of course Intel's marketing would say that.... ;)

    Only Windows 8.1 and 10 support Miracast OOB...you would need the Intel WiDi Client for Windows 7.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
does surface 3 support widi
,
how to setup intel widi on surface 3
,
intel atom on surface 3 widi
,
intel widi surface 3
,
is a windows surface 3 compatible with widi
,
is the surface pro 3 widi capable
,
surface 3 intel widi
,

surface 3 widi

,
surface pro 3 intel widi
,

surface pro 3 widi